Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Player Doubts Black Hammer VR Damage?
Shadowfox
post Mar 2 2009, 10:27 PM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 16,629

So this is my first time GMing a Shadowrun 4th edition game, and last session we finished On The Run, and all my friends are in love with the system. So I've been slowly showing them how The Matrix works, and I was explaining damage from dumpshock and black hammer, and he had a hard time understanding how, even with hot sim VR, how you could be damaged.

You guys are much better at explaining these things, and most of you know the lore and the "science" behind it a lot better than I do, so could you post an explanation I could show him to make him better understand the "injecting large amounts of feedback into the simsense stream? And also how dumpshock hurts, and why you get your connection jammed open with a black hammer/out attack. It's not a huge deal, I just know you guys rock at this kind of info, and I'd like to know a little better myself for fun.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
cryptoknight
post Mar 2 2009, 10:42 PM
Post #2

Moving Target

Member No.: 12,735

VR means that your nervous system's connection to your body is replaced by a connection to a virtual persona.

If the virtual persona takes damage, your brain interprets that as damage to your body.

This would cause your brain to release the hormonal commands that put the damage controls into effect, extra platlets are released, etc. Your body reacts to the virtual attack by trying to repair damage that's not there. Which causes damage to you.

I can flail around with all sorts of pseudo science if you want but basically Black IC in cyberpunk has always had a chance to kill you.