Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Noob looking for advice
Zurai
post Mar 14 2009, 03:06 AM
Post #1

Moving Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 16,964

So, I'm brand new to actually playing Shadowrun (though I owned the SR3 core rules, I never got to play with them), and about to start up a campaign with several other people who are brand new to Shadowrun. I'm playing the magical support out of the group (we also have a face/sam, a sneaker/sam, and a hacker/rigger) and would like to run my character by some veterans for a basic sanity check, just to make sure there's nothing vital I've forgotten and no glaring errors I've made. I'm not looking to totally min-max the character (as will be obvious from my metatype / mage path choice), and I don't want to steal the show, but I would like to be at least reasonably effective. So, any advice on avoiding either extreme (overshadowing the other players or being totally overshadowed by them) would be welcome. We're using the base SR4 ruleset, not SR4A, at least not yet.

The basic character concept is a Troll Voodoo utility mage. He has a couple combat spells, but mostly he's there to provide support to the other characters. He's got an inroad with the local Vory organization who he trades favors with (supply me with cheap raw reagents and I'll refine raw reagents up for you for free, etc). Eventually he's going to want to make an Ally Spirit or two, but that's a long-term goal. The campaign is set in Jacksonville, FL (where most of the players and the GM live) although there are some minor canon changes (such as having one of the CAS carriers be based in Mayport... Mobile, my heiny!). "Cajun Troll Voodoo Mage" is non-negotiable; the rest I'll be happy to accept advice on.

EDIT: Whoops, forgot the negative qualities.

[ Spoiler ]
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Ryu
post Mar 14 2009, 07:16 AM
Post #2

Awakened Asset

Member No.: 7,309