Reply to this topicStart new topic
> what's the big deal with overcasting?
Roy Fokker
post Mar 15 2009, 03:37 PM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 16,642

i'm relatively new to SR4 gm'ing and i don't see what is so overpowered about overcasting in SR4 and SR4a regarding drain. i realize the drain turns physical and overcasting increasing the force (and thereby net hits) but people seem to state in the SR4a threads that doing this *helps* lower drain. can anyone explain this to me? thanks!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Doc Byte
post Mar 15 2009, 03:40 PM
Post #2

Moving Target

Member No.: 7,168

Now it will start all over again. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/rotate.gif)

+Quote Post
Malicant
post Mar 15 2009, 03:58 PM
Post #3

Running Target

Member No.: 7,520

I will use a metaphor for casting direct combat spells to explain that.

Imagine you run a hundred yards. Now imagine you were sprinting those yards, reaching your goal faster, but being more exhausted. That was SR4 regular and overcasting. Now in SR4A if you run, you can exert yourself so much, that your heart stops beating. Sprinting on the other hand is exactly the same as before.

That is my friggin' problem.

+Quote Post
Andrew
post Mar 15 2009, 04:02 PM
Post #4

Target

Member No.: 13,202

The problem which some people seem to have appears to be that by Overcsting a mage takes physical damage rather than subdual damage but not a large amount of it which they can then heal by using first aid. In addition by overcasting they can select a damage value which will automaticically take out the target with only 1 net success.
I thought I would have a stab at answering your question instead of the random sarcasm

+Quote Post
Neraph
post Mar 15 2009, 04:25 PM
Post #5

Great Dragon

Member No.: 16,387

Let me see if I can help out a bit too.