Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Spirit Identities, A list of spirits for various magicians to use
Veritomancer
post Aug 24 2009, 08:14 PM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 17,546

I'm new to Dumpshock, but as a huge fan of magicians in Shadowrun (and of Conjuring in particular) I figured that it might be helpful to start a list of inventive ideas for the sorts of spirits magicians of various traditions might summon. I mean it's rather easy to say that your Hermetic magician is summoning a "Fire Spirit" but it's so much more evocative to say that he's summoning "Uz'clur the Salamander" or to say that your Muslim conjurer is summoning one of the fabled Djinn that helped build Solomon's temple.

So here are some of my ideas as far as the possible identities for various spirit types (as seen through the lens of various traditions) feel free to add on to the list.

Vodoun: Spirits of man could be the spirits of long-dead Houngans or Mambos that have gone home to serve the loa. Guardian spirits might be servants of Ogun, lord of the Iron blade who will fortify the Houngan in battle. Great Form spirits summoned via invoking are likely to be considered Loa themselves- Baron Samedi might be represented mechanically by a formidable great-form spirit of man that is summoned through the drinking of rum, elaborate veves, and an offering of the finest cigars.

European Witchcraft: Task spirits are likely to be Fieldlings or similiar minor fae creatures, summoned with a bowl of milk and a stale crust of bread and warded off with an iron horseshoe if they get too mischievous. Fire spirits might be fae creatures of the hearth, by turns nurturing and wrathful. Plant spirits are likely to be interpreted as Dryads or Flower Fairies, and might be appeased by the nurturing of their respective "home plants".