Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Newbie with armor question, what stacks vs what doesn't
Dances with Trol...
post Feb 11 2010, 03:55 AM
Post #1

Target

Group: New Member Probation
Member No.: 18,137

Hello. I am a veteran shadowrunner, but new to 4th edition, and I am hoping to get a few things confirmed about the first character I constructed, and what dice he is going to roll when he gets shot.

Question 1: My character is a troll. He gets 1 die of natural armor. I can't find the page that details whether that is ballistic, impact, or both.

Question 2: Armor and Encumbrance. A character's armor is compared to Bodyx2 to determine whether he takes agility/reaction penalties. Is the +1 die of natural armor included in this calculation, or is it left out since it is 'part of the troll'? What about the armor bonus for cyberware like aluminum bone lacing?

Question 3: Form Fitting Body Armor, from Arsenal, pg 48 seems too good to be true. Stackable armor, plus half the encumbrance seems excessive. Am I reading my rules right? My troll has a body of 9, an armor jacket (8/6) aluminum bone lacing (0/1, and +2 body dice to resist damage), a full suit of form-fitting-body-armor (6/2) and a helmet (1/2) This gives him a grand total of 11 + 15/11, not counting the natural armor (pending an answer to question 1). Is that really 26 dice to resist a bullet wound, or am I messing up somewhere? Are there elements of this equation that are not compatible with each other?

Thank you for your assistance. Drinks on me if we meet in the sprawl.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
MikeKozar
post Feb 11 2010, 04:55 AM
Post #2

Moving Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 17,426

QUOTE (Dances with Trolls @ Feb 10 2010, 07:55 PM) *
Hello. I am a veteran shadowrunner, but new to 4th edition, and I am hoping to get a few things confirmed about the first character I constructed, and what dice he is going to roll when he gets shot.