IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Character Creation: Mage, I think I'm doing it wrong...
Nifft
post Mar 2 2010, 03:12 PM
Post #1

Moving Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 18,227

Hello Dumpshock! I'm just getting into Shadowrun, and trying to make a Mage character, but I think I'm missing some rules.

For example, from reading through threads here, it looks like one cannot start out with a Force 5 Power Focus... so what kind of Foci should I take?

Here are the spells I picked, and my reasoning for them:

Stunbolt -- anti-spirit, anti-mage, "soft kill" for when we want someone to interrogate, and it's low Drain.
Heal -- we don't have a dedicated medic.
Ignite (physical) -- utility spell, last-ditch combat spell.
Influence (mental) -- "social combat" spell.
Levitate -- utility, replaces Athletics skill group.
Physical Barrier -- defensive combat spell, can protect the whole party.

For my Spirit Mentor, I picked the Fire-Bringer, but Dog looks really good too -- I'm not playing the kind of guy who would lightly leave his companions behind.

Is there a guide to making a mage? I'm looking to be useful and to survive, rather than make my GM cry, so any broken stuff to avoid would be nice too.

Thanks, -- N
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Starmage21
post Mar 2 2010, 03:20 PM
Post #2

Moving Target

Member No.: 11,448

QUOTE (Nifft @ Mar 2 2010, 10:12 AM) *
Hello Dumpshock! I'm just getting into Shadowrun, and trying to make a Mage character, but I think I'm missing some rules.

For example, from reading through threads here, it looks like one cannot start out with a Force 5 Power Focus... so what kind of Foci should I take?

Here are the spells I picked, and my reasoning for them:

Stunbolt -- anti-spirit, anti-mage, "soft kill" for when we want someone to interrogate, and it's low Drain.
Heal -- we don't have a dedicated medic.
Ignite (physical) -- utility spell, last-ditch combat spell.