Reply to this topicStart new topic
> SR4 Net Hits Probability Distribution
p00ya
post Apr 12 2010, 08:15 AM
Post #1

Target

Group: New Member Probation
Member No.: 18,447

I'm new to SR4's net hits system and I was finding it hard to estimate the probability of meeting particular thresholds on opposed tests. I decided to make these nethits statistical tables as an aid.

I couldn't derive an elegant closed form expression for either the PDF or CDF here. The expected value is the intuitive (n-m)/3. The variance seems to be cubic in n, asymptotically. I generated the exact entries in Mathematica and then rounded them off for presentation. I've only listed positive entries.

You can get a PDF at a point k by taking the difference of vertically adjacent entries.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Ol' Scratch
post Apr 12 2010, 08:32 AM
Post #2

Immortal Elf

Group: Validating
Member No.: 1,890

I think it's a case of over-thinking things, personally.

On average, you can usually expect one hit for every three dice you have to throw and a guarantee (under many circumstances) of one hit for every four dice you have via a semi-optional rule. If you have a threshold of 3, you'll want at least 9 dice to throw and if you have 12 or more you can ask to just buy the hits. Simple. And for every three dice below that "requirement," your chance of succeeding lowers by one hit. Do you really need any sort of complicated math beyond that in most circumstances?

I mean, if you have the time to stop the game in order to crunch some numbers, and there's a chance you won't even bother with an action, do you really need to waste the time to crunch those numbers to begin with? Because if it's something important where life and death are on the line, you're probably going to try it regardless of the math. And if it's not, what's the harm in trying it to see how Lady Luck treats you?

+Quote Post
Saint Sithney
post Apr 12 2010, 09:07 AM
Post #3

Runner

Group: Members
Member No.: 17,722