IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mechwarrior 4 Free Release finally available!
Dumori
post May 17 2010, 02:11 PM
Post #26


Dumorimasoddaa
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,687
Joined: 30-March 08
Member No.: 15,830



I still can't pick a pick a set of keybinds that works well for me.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post May 17 2010, 03:09 PM
Post #27


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 13,908
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



Use Arrow-Keys up/down for faster/slower
Use numpad 0 for zoom
use mouse for sttering left/right.
use the insert, pos1, pgup, del, end, pgdown for firing groups 1 to 6.
user enter for jumpjets
use space for centering torso on legs.
left mouse button fires weapon.
use # to switch firing mode. all you need is either group or chain fire.
ignore everything else. you won't need it.
only other stuff you will need is the F-Keys for your lancemates.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dumori
post May 17 2010, 08:39 PM
Post #28


Dumorimasoddaa
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,687
Joined: 30-March 08
Member No.: 15,830



QUOTE (Stahlseele @ May 17 2010, 04:09 PM) *
Use Arrow-Keys up/down for faster/slower
Use numpad 0 for zoom
use mouse for sttering left/right.
use the insert, pos1, pgup, del, end, pgdown for firing groups 1 to 6.
user enter for jumpjets
use space for centering torso on legs.
left mouse button fires weapon.
use # to switch firing mode. all you need is either group or chain fire.
ignore everything else. you won't need it.
only other stuff you will need is the F-Keys for your lancemates.

Aye I have a Joystick though so I'm still experimenting to in clued that well. But yeah I think I might steal a bit from you there I have 11 buttons on my joystick though 4 of them aren't really acessable being on either side and hard to reach for those tasks you need to use quickly (I know this form my playing of X2-3).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post May 18 2010, 09:00 AM
Post #29


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 13,908
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



Yeah, Joystick is nice and all, i just never got the hang of it . . even if it's toted as THE WAY TO PLAY MECHWARRIOR!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dumori
post May 18 2010, 08:31 PM
Post #30


Dumorimasoddaa
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,687
Joined: 30-March 08
Member No.: 15,830



lol I'm new to MW so I'll expererment to death. I might even try to drom the kyboard totaly Joystick mouse only.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post May 18 2010, 10:09 PM
Post #31


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 13,908
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



if you can aquire one, try to get one of the steel bataillon controllers and hook that one up ^^
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dumori
post May 18 2010, 10:33 PM
Post #32


Dumorimasoddaa
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,687
Joined: 30-March 08
Member No.: 15,830



I'm looking to pick up somethinf like this or this. As they both have a joystick plus all the other dodads that are handy for my space sims ect and would likely with some practice work nice with FPS and other sim games.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bull
post May 19 2010, 02:00 AM
Post #33


Grumpy Old Ork Decker
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,703
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Orwell, Ohio
Member No.: 50



I actually have been playing with an XBox 360 controller (I'm really bad at keyboard controls, and I don't have a Joystick). Works fairly well, though I need to keep the keyboard handy for a few things, and I cannot figure out how to get it to recognize the right stick for Torso Twisting.

Bull
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Faraday
post May 19 2010, 02:31 AM
Post #34


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,025
Joined: 13-February 10
Member No.: 18,155



QUOTE (Stahlseele @ May 17 2010, 08:09 AM) *
Use Arrow-Keys up/down for faster/slower
Use numpad 0 for zoom
use mouse for sttering left/right.
use the insert, pos1, pgup, del, end, pgdown for firing groups 1 to 6.
user enter for jumpjets
use space for centering torso on legs.
left mouse button fires weapon.
use # to switch firing mode. all you need is either group or chain fire.
ignore everything else. you won't need it.
only other stuff you will need is the F-Keys for your lancemates.

You forgot the coolant flush button and radar toggling. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post May 19 2010, 09:19 AM
Post #35


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 13,908
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



QUOTE (Dumori @ May 18 2010, 10:31 PM) *
lol I'm new to MW so I'll expererment to death. I might even try to drom the kyboard totaly Joystick mouse only.

If you have questions, ask. i'm glad to see new people playing mechwarrior again ^^
QUOTE (Dumori @ May 19 2010, 12:33 AM) *
I'm looking to pick up somethinf like this or this. As they both have a joystick plus all the other dodads that are handy for my space sims ect and would likely with some practice work nice with FPS and other sim games.

That looks really uncomfortable to me O.o I guess i'm just too old school to abandon my mouse and keyboard for something different <.<;,
QUOTE (Bull @ May 19 2010, 04:00 AM) *
I actually have been playing with an XBox 360 controller

BOOOO!!!! XD ^^
QUOTE (Faraday @ May 19 2010, 04:31 AM) *
You forgot the coolant flush button and radar toggling. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)

I usually leave that on the standard things.
IF i do change it, coolant flush goes down to left ctrl and radar to left shift.
much more important is the switching of stopping the auto shutdown from a combination of two buttons to just one button of your choice.
maybe switching the mission goals to something else too.
But usually, you really don't need these as much as you would think . .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Karoline
post May 20 2010, 01:27 AM
Post #36


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,679
Joined: 19-September 09
Member No.: 17,652



For those that like a strategy version that is a direct throwback to the miniatures version, you may want to check out Titans of Steel.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post May 20 2010, 07:16 AM
Post #37


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 13,908
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



Or, you could play Megamek (http://megamek.sourceforge.net/) or MechCommander (http://www.mechcommander.org/)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bull
post May 21 2010, 12:56 AM
Post #38


Grumpy Old Ork Decker
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,703
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Orwell, Ohio
Member No.: 50



I never got to play MechCommander. I wonder if Caine has any of them kicking around (And if they run on Win 7)?

Bull
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Faraday
post May 21 2010, 04:38 AM
Post #39


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,025
Joined: 13-February 10
Member No.: 18,155



QUOTE (Bull @ May 20 2010, 05:56 PM) *
I never got to play MechCommander. I wonder if Caine has any of them kicking around (And if they run on Win 7)?

Bull

There's always XP VMs. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

QUOTE (Stahlseele @ May 19 2010, 02:19 AM) *
\
But usually, you really don't need these as much as you would think . .
Tell that to the guy with a novacat and 3 ER PPCs. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/nyahnyah.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post May 21 2010, 07:15 AM
Post #40


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 13,908
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



Only three?
You can have 4 or 5 in some 'Mechs.
QUOTE (Bull @ May 21 2010, 02:56 AM) *
I never got to play MechCommander. I wonder if Caine has any of them kicking around (And if they run on Win 7)?

Bull

i think one or both of the mechcommander parts are available as vaporware or freeware or however that's called.
meaning you can legally download them. and with a bit of tinkering, i think they do work under windows 7.
if i can find some free time tomorrow, i will experiment a bit on my laptop, which runs windows 7 64.
and if that does not work and if you have a legal windows 7 version, you can download the XP Mode from Microsoft.
which is basically supposed to be a highly integrated windows xp virtual machine for free with serial . .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Faraday
post May 21 2010, 06:00 PM
Post #41


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,025
Joined: 13-February 10
Member No.: 18,155



QUOTE (Stahlseele @ May 21 2010, 12:15 AM) *
Only three?
You can have 4 or 5 in some 'Mechs.

Novacat's only 70 tons. I'm a big fan of gauss rifles on my assault mechs. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post May 21 2010, 06:09 PM
Post #42


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 13,908
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



i'm not. 7xER Large for me.
or for close in, 3xCUAC20.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DireRadiant
post May 22 2010, 08:54 PM
Post #43


The Dragon Never Sleeps
*********

Group: Admin
Posts: 6,819
Joined: 1-September 05
Member No.: 7,667



QUOTE (Stahlseele @ May 20 2010, 02:16 AM) *
Or, you could play Megamek (http://megamek.sourceforge.net/) or MechCommander (http://www.mechcommander.org/)


In case you wonder, both of these are part of MicroSoft XNA shared source releases and are not pirated.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post May 22 2010, 10:21 PM
Post #44


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 13,908
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



if that were not the case, i would not have posted these links out in the open knowingly.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dabz
post Jun 8 2010, 05:45 PM
Post #45


Target
*

Group: New Member Probation
Posts: 8
Joined: 27-May 10
Member No.: 18,627



still i cannot access with this one..how can i make it? i really dont know...i was keep on installing but still its not working
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post Jun 8 2010, 07:28 PM
Post #46


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 13,908
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



*sigh* yeah, there's still problems with this.
they are working on a complete full installer with an .exe file which you don't need the MTX for . . i hope they are successfull and soon . .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kanislatrans
post Jun 30 2010, 02:30 AM
Post #47


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 602
Joined: 2-December 07
From: The corner of Detonation Boulevard and Fascination Street
Member No.: 14,464



got it running...now for a month or so of practice and I'll see ya all in the field.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post Jul 6 2010, 05:31 PM
Post #48


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 13,908
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



Have fun ^^
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
X-Kalibur
post Oct 12 2010, 10:27 PM
Post #49


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,562
Joined: 30-May 06
From: SoCal
Member No.: 8,626



QUOTE (Stahlseele @ May 18 2010, 03:09 PM) *
if you can aquire one, try to get one of the steel bataillon controllers and hook that one up ^^


I bought that when it came out and I must say it is still the best mech simulator around. I do not recommend attempting to use the controller for MW though. Mostly due to it's large size.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post Oct 15 2010, 11:34 PM
Post #50


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 13,908
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



*sigh*
i wish i could get one of those controllers somewhere around here . .
I'd be tempted to try and hook it up to my computer to run the Crysis Mod MWLL with . .
Or at least MW4 Mercs the Free Release ^^
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 07:48 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.