Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Looking for Detailed Example of Play
BobChuck
post Jul 6 2010, 06:58 PM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 18,795

I'm new to Shadowrun. I've heard of the game for years, but I've never bumped into anyone that played. I was at Origins, paused in front of the Shadowrun booth, listened to one of the people tell me about the 20th anniversary edition of the book, and decided on a whim to pick it up and check it out.

I am very impressed.

The rules are very well written, the book is well layed out, the index is amazing. The online resources are quite complete, including over a dozen cheat sheets and multiple character generators.

Thing is, the game is incredibly complex. I mean, extremely, mind-bogglingly difficult to process all at once. Everything is explained well, with small examples showing how each little bit works, but there's nothing that pulls everything together. As a brand new player, even one with 10 yeas of experience with other systems, there's way too much to try and process. I've had the book a week and I still don't understand how most of the stuff works. All the information is there, and the mechanics clearly work well with each other - something that many other systems struggle with - but I don't know how to put it all together.

I know that the best way to learn is to play, but doing that requires an experienced group, which is something I don't have. If I do play Shadowrun soon, I will probably be running it, at least at first.