IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Awakened Technomancers, And you thought seeing into two worlds at once was trippy
KarmaInferno
post Jul 20 2010, 12:28 AM
Post #1


Old Man Jones
********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 4,415
Joined: 26-February 02
From: New York
Member No.: 1,699



If an Awakened Sapient Critter like a Pixie takes the Technomancer quality, does he actually lose his Magic rating?

I had thought this was the case, but re-reading the SR4A book the quality only forbids also taking the Adept, Mystic Adept, or Magician qualities.

Is it possible I'm remembering this from previous editions?

I'm building a techno-rigger pixie that rides around in an anthroform drone. The rules don't especially seem to support this kinda build.

(IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)



-karma
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tanegar
post Jul 20 2010, 12:38 AM
Post #2


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,654
Joined: 29-October 06
Member No.: 9,731



IMO allowing critter technomancers is iffy to begin with, but I would tend to rule that a pixie technomancer cannot increase his or her Magic attribute beyond the 1 common to the species, nor can he or she Initiate. Basically, if your Essence falls below 6, you lose your Magic permanently.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
KarmaInferno
post Jul 20 2010, 12:42 AM
Post #3


Old Man Jones
********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 4,415
Joined: 26-February 02
From: New York
Member No.: 1,699



What could one do with a magic rating anyhow, if you don't have any of the caster/adept Qualities?

I mean, besides astrally perceive, in the case of a Pixie.



-karma
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Karoline
post Jul 20 2010, 12:43 AM
Post #4


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,679
Joined: 19-September 09
Member No.: 17,652



I don't recall the exact page, but I do remember there being something in the book specifically saying that you cannot have both a magic and a resonance attribute.

I would interpret that as meaning that something with a maigc attribute cannot gain a resonance attribute (even if they became a burn out), but some people might consider it as being that one would replace the other (sprite would lose powers in that case)

Personally, given the massive mental bonuses a sprite has, I think they are a bit broken as TMs, so I wouldn't support it, but it is something you'd have to ask your GM.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wasabi
post Jul 20 2010, 12:52 AM
Post #5


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,251
Joined: 11-September 04
From: GA
Member No.: 6,651



QUOTE (KarmaInferno @ Jul 19 2010, 08:42 PM) *
What could one do with a magic rating anyhow, if you don't have any of the caster/adept Qualities?


You could suffer a -1 to all tests per point of Background Count.

"Teamleader this is Midge! I cannae hack it, there's a ringin' in mah wee ears!"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
KarmaInferno
post Jul 20 2010, 12:57 AM
Post #6


Old Man Jones
********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 4,415
Joined: 26-February 02
From: New York
Member No.: 1,699



Ahah, I answer my own question:

QUOTE (SR4A p82)
A character can possess either Magic or Resonanceónever both.


Which means a TM pixie can't even fly.

Well, I guess it explains the permanent bad mood I envisioned him having.



-karma
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tanegar
post Jul 20 2010, 01:05 AM
Post #7


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,654
Joined: 29-October 06
Member No.: 9,731



If you stick him in something like a Dalmatian drone, he can fly that. Hell, it might even be large enough to hold a pixie-sized cockpit.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yerameyahu
post Jul 20 2010, 01:21 AM
Post #8


Advocatus Diaboli
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,994
Joined: 20-November 07
From: USA
Member No.: 14,282



AFAIK, a Pixie could never become a Technomancer in the first place. A nice GM might let someone 'lose' their Magic to get Resonance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tagz
post Jul 20 2010, 01:24 AM
Post #9


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 492
Joined: 28-July 09
Member No.: 17,440



If you want a pixie hacker go Adept. It works real well. Also, gotta love it in the cases where you need to hard wire into a node and the pixie can fly through the ventilation ducks with ease.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
KarmaInferno
post Jul 20 2010, 01:53 AM
Post #10


Old Man Jones
********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 4,415
Joined: 26-February 02
From: New York
Member No.: 1,699



QUOTE (Karoline @ Jul 19 2010, 08:43 PM) *
Personally, given the massive mental bonuses a sprite has, I think they are a bit broken as TMs, so I wouldn't support it, but it is something you'd have to ask your GM.


This being a Missions character, and the rules allowing/not allowing TM pixies being not 100% clear, I shall go bother Bull.

Thanks for the suggestions!



-karma
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yerameyahu
post Jul 20 2010, 01:59 AM
Post #11


Advocatus Diaboli
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,994
Joined: 20-November 07
From: USA
Member No.: 14,282



Oh. RAW-wise, I don't think anything with a Magic can get Resonance, period. :/

Nowai, those vent ducts have cutting lasers. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wasabi
post Jul 20 2010, 02:05 AM
Post #12


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,251
Joined: 11-September 04
From: GA
Member No.: 6,651



Yep, p82 of the SR4A hardcopy says you can never have both.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yerameyahu
post Jul 20 2010, 02:14 AM
Post #13


Advocatus Diaboli
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,994
Joined: 20-November 07
From: USA
Member No.: 14,282



Well, some people are asking if that means you can *lose* your Magic rating and *then* get a Resonance. I don't think you can, but it's not 100% clear.

For the record, I don't think a normal human mage could burn out and then become a Technomancer, either. (By RAW. A GM might conceivably have cause to allow this.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Trevalier
post Jul 20 2010, 04:23 AM
Post #14


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 5-February 10
Member No.: 18,116



QUOTE (Yerameyahu @ Jul 19 2010, 08:14 PM) *
Well, some people are asking if that means you can *lose* your Magic rating and *then* get a Resonance. I don't think you can, but it's not 100% clear.

For the record, I don't think a normal human mage could burn out and then become a Technomancer, either. (By RAW. A GM might conceivably have cause to allow this.)

I was under the impression that burning out reduced your Magic rating to 0, not that it made it go away.
QUOTE
Magic and Resonance are mutually exclusive attributes. A character who possesses a quality that grants a Magic of 1 or higher cannot have a Resonance attribute.
[SR4A, pg 68, emphasis mine]

My reading of this is that it's the quality that gives you a Magic attribute. As long as you have the quality (which in this case is "being a pixie"), you have the attribute, no matter what its rating is.

I could see, for the sake of argument, allowing someone with the Magician or Adept quality who has burned out to buy off the quality with karma as if it were a negative quality, then gain a Resonance attribute. It would require their burnout to have happened in a spectacular tech-related roleplaying extravaganza, and it would be wildly wasteful of karma, of course.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yerameyahu
post Jul 20 2010, 04:26 AM
Post #15


Advocatus Diaboli
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,994
Joined: 20-November 07
From: USA
Member No.: 14,282



The thing is, at the fluff level, Magic and Resonance are supposed to be wildly incompatible, right? Ignoring the rules and careful reading thereof, do I have that impression correct? So, anything with Magic (past or present) can't have Resonance. According to the setting, I mean. It's like teleportation.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wasabi
post Jul 20 2010, 04:29 AM
Post #16


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,251
Joined: 11-September 04
From: GA
Member No.: 6,651



Thats my take, Yerameyahu.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hand-E-Food
post Jul 20 2010, 04:53 AM
Post #17


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 19-May 10
From: Melbourne, Australia
Member No.: 18,592



I've only seen one exception to this rule: the Infected.

When a technomancer is infected with HMHVV, he loses all of his Resonance and his Technomancer quality. Depending on the circumstances (ie. the GM's decision), the character may gain a Magic attribute and one of the magical qualities (Adept, Magician, or Mystical Adept.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tech_Rat
post Jul 20 2010, 04:54 AM
Post #18


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 222
Joined: 28-November 09
From: In ur ba5e, killin' ur d00dz.
Member No.: 17,910



From what I recall, RC speciffically forbids pixies from getting the TM quality.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yerameyahu
post Jul 20 2010, 05:03 AM
Post #19


Advocatus Diaboli
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,994
Joined: 20-November 07
From: USA
Member No.: 14,282



Good point, Hand-E-Food. That is Resonance-to-Magic, of course, but it's an example of a single character having both over their lifetime.

Adrian, that's what I thought, but I dunno an exact page. In RC, shapeshifters *are* specifically excluded from gaining Resonance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ancient History
post Jul 20 2010, 05:16 AM
Post #20


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 6,748
Joined: 5-July 02
Member No.: 2,935



Check the FAQ. Very last question.

That said, in my game? I might allow it. I was playing with some Ascended Master rules at one point, where your Resonance and Magic attributes had to balance - so, let us say you're a pixie with starting Magic 6 and Latent Technomancer, and one day during play you Emerge. You gain a Resonance of 1. From that point on, every time you increase your Magic by 1, your Resonance is reduced by 1, and vice versa.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yerameyahu
post Jul 20 2010, 05:19 AM
Post #21


Advocatus Diaboli
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,994
Joined: 20-November 07
From: USA
Member No.: 14,282



Thanks Ancient History, that's perfect. Apparently it's Running Wild, p205. The last place I'd ever check. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Karoline
post Jul 20 2010, 01:18 PM
Post #22


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,679
Joined: 19-September 09
Member No.: 17,652



It's an errata without having to release an errata for the entire RC book.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yerameyahu
post Jul 20 2010, 01:27 PM
Post #23


Advocatus Diaboli
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,994
Joined: 20-November 07
From: USA
Member No.: 14,282



Hehe, yes, god forbid. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CeeJay
post Jul 20 2010, 01:42 PM
Post #24


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 250
Joined: 16-January 09
From: Nowhere near you... unless you happen to be near Cologne.
Member No.: 16,776



QUOTE (SR4A Page 82)
A character can possess either Magic or Resonanceónever both.

It can't get any clearer than that...

-CJ


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st June 2023 - 03:19 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.