IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Teleporting SANs, Are they still around?
Krojar
post Sep 21 2010, 07:06 PM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 30-August 10
Member No.: 18,986



In 3rd Edition there were rules for SANs that jumped around fairly often. Was wondering if there were still rules/still feasible in Matrix 2.0
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cheops
post Sep 21 2010, 08:10 PM
Post #2


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,512
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 392



I don't see why not. They would essentially be nodes that occasionally perform the hacker action that lets you change your AID. Something like Spoof Access. Can't remember the actual name. Except that there would be some sort of algorithm so that any dependent connections know how to keep up with the changing AID. (So a hacker could intercept data to get access to the algorithm once he figures out what is going on)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Krojar
post Sep 22 2010, 03:31 AM
Post #3


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 30-August 10
Member No.: 18,986



So a teleporting SAN would, actually, be a gateway/chokepoint node that is constantly changing AID?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yerameyahu
post Sep 22 2010, 03:37 AM
Post #4


Advocatus Diaboli
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,994
Joined: 20-November 07
From: USA
Member No.: 14,282



What's it for, exactly?
QUOTE
There are two ways to change your access ID; both take only a few minutes. You can alter your access ID by repro- gramming your router settings with a Hacking + Software (2) Test, but this only lasts until your commlink is rebooted. A more permanent solution is to alter the hardware with a Hardware + Logic (2) Test, which lasts until the hardware is altered again or replaced.

Also, are there rules for how long this actually takes? It's a non-Extended test, but it says "a few minutes".
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Neraph
post Sep 22 2010, 07:51 AM
Post #5


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,542
Joined: 30-September 08
From: D/FW Megaplex
Member No.: 16,387



It's at the push of a button with a Spoof Chip. Or automatically.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cheops
post Sep 22 2010, 02:52 PM
Post #6


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,512
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 392



QUOTE (Krojar @ Sep 22 2010, 03:31 AM) *
So a teleporting SAN would, actually, be a gateway/chokepoint node that is constantly changing AID?


That's all that they were in SR3.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Krojar
post Sep 23 2010, 01:44 AM
Post #7


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 30-August 10
Member No.: 18,986



Right but back then, IIRC, you had to be logged into the RTG and LTG it was connected to making it an even bigger pain in the ass when both are constantly changing.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cheops
post Sep 23 2010, 05:09 PM
Post #8


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,512
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 392



There's really no such thing as location anymore in SR4 so that would be hard to duplicate. Just make it so that you have to relocate it each time with a Scan action or something. With the removal of the grid system the spatial element of the Matrix was removed. Everyone is in 1 large computing cloud now.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th June 2024 - 10:03 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.