Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Nerve Strike - 3rd Edition
Titus
post Oct 6 2010, 10:57 PM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 18,763

Ok, I am a newbie Shadowrun player. I decided to play a magical adept. One of the abilities I have selected is Nerve Strike. I have attached a description of the ability below. My big question is, what does the defender roll? Does the defender roll the same thing, but instead of applying the damage to the condition monitor, damage would be applied to quickness.

Suppose an unarmed combat situation. Would the defender roll Body + Unarmed Combat + Available Combat dice? Would the defender roll something else? Would the defender roll at all?

Nerve strike allows an adept to inflict damage that affects a target’s nervous system. The adept makes a standard unarmed attack against a base Target Number of 4 plus the target’s Impact Armor Rating. Rather than inflicting damage, every 2 net successes reduce the target’s Quickness by 1. If Quickness is reduced to 0, the target is paralyzed. Lost Quickness is recovered at a rate of 1 point per minute. Nerve strike is most effective against human and metahuman opponents. When used against critters, the base Target Number is 6 (or higher, if the critter has an unusual anatomy). Targets that lack a functional nervous system, such as machines, spirits and zombies, are immune to this power.

Source: Shadowrun, 3rd edition. Magic in the Shadows, page 150

Thank you!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Kren Cooper
post Oct 6 2010, 11:01 PM
Post #2

Wordsmith

Group: Dumpshocked
Member No.: 18,740

I've always read this as follows:

The player character and the opponent make their normal melee attack rolls. Target number is base 4, modified by reach, situational modifiers, wounds etc - all the normal things.

If the opponent wins the roll, work out damage normally.