IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How to apply Reach
Ole_I
post Oct 31 2010, 10:18 AM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 25-October 10
From: Trondheim, Norway
Member No.: 19,130



The SR4 rule which allow Reach to be applied as a bonus to your own pool, or a penalty to the opponent's pool is quite interesting. But how do I take advantage of this? When should I roll the dice myself, and when should I impair my opponent?

My troll has effective 3 Reach (assuming the opponent has none), and a dice pool of 16 without Reach. So, how should I use that Reach?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Summerstorm
post Oct 31 2010, 10:22 AM
Post #2


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,000
Joined: 30-May 09
From: Germany
Member No.: 17,225



Try getting your gm to apply it as penalty to your oponents. lower pool= higher critical failure chance... your pool is high enough already *g*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post Oct 31 2010, 10:27 AM
Post #3


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 14,517
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



3 Reach?
1 from Troll-Arms, and 2 from some kind of close combat weapon i presume?
You could either use all of it to give your opponent a -3 to their DicePool.
Or you could use all of it to give yourself a +3 to your dicepool.
Or you can use the 1 reach of your arms to give yourself a +1 to your dicepool and the 2 reach of your weapon to impair your opponent.
Or you can use the 2 reach of your weapon to give yourself a +2 to your dicepool and the 1 reach of your weapon to impair your opponent.
These are, technically, all allowed.
And now comes the best: you can decide what to do each time you use your reach . .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ascalaphus
post Oct 31 2010, 10:35 AM
Post #4


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,899
Joined: 29-October 09
From: Leiden, the Netherlands
Member No.: 17,814



QUOTE (Summerstorm @ Oct 31 2010, 12:22 PM) *
Try getting your gm to apply it as penalty to your oponents. lower pool= higher critical failure chance... your pool is high enough already *g*


If you have more than one opponent, giving them the penalty is also obviously better than getting the bonus yourself against only one of them.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mesh
post Oct 31 2010, 12:41 PM
Post #5


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 297
Joined: 11-April 10
From: Raleigh, NC
Member No.: 18,443



QUOTE (Ascalaphus @ Oct 31 2010, 06:35 AM) *
If you have more than one opponent, giving them the penalty is also obviously better than getting the bonus yourself against only one of them.

The penalty applies to the defender's defense test not their attack dice pools so the multiple opponent idea you have isn't valid.

SR4a p158, read the example.

Mesh
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ascalaphus
post Oct 31 2010, 01:25 PM
Post #6


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,899
Joined: 29-October 09
From: Leiden, the Netherlands
Member No.: 17,814



QUOTE (Mesh @ Oct 31 2010, 02:41 PM) *
The penalty applies to the defender's defense test not their attack dice pools so the multiple opponent idea you have isn't valid.

SR4a p158, read the example.

Mesh


Yeah, I just read that, and the actual rule above it. In all cases, the character with more Reach either gets a bonus or imposes a penalty. You can choose on a per-opponent, per-test basis.

So, which is best? If you have few dice, take the bonus to reduce glitches. Otherwise, impose the penalty to increase enemy glitches. Works both when attacking and defending. (And of course, when using edge to explode sixes, take the bonus!)

Hmm. Now I'm getting ideas about a troll with a staff who just lands in the middle of a gang and Full-Defenses long enough that eventually his enemies CritGlitch themselves to death. Probably wouldn't work, but it would be funny.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th April 2021 - 07:45 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.