Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Aiming through Cameras?
TickTalk
post Nov 16 2010, 06:37 AM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 19,175

I just started learning shadowrun today and basically decided that I wanted a sniper character. So smartlink comes to mind. But I was wondering if there was a way for me to hack cameras or use camera drones to triangulate a target and use the information from all the cameras to aim my sniper rifle at targets that are say, blocked by cover. If I'm using a high enough powered rifle I should be able to shoot through walls. I just wanna make sure I can hit doing that. Is it possible? Or is that a little too far into the future for shadowrun?

I intend to go pretty heavy on the cyber and bioware so no worries if I need some chrome there.

This post has been edited by TickTalk: Nov 16 2010, 06:39 AM
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Christian Lafay
post Nov 16 2010, 06:47 AM
Post #2

Moving Target

Member No.: 15,965

In this world I could see it being done but it would require things like layouts and heavy math. Ever watch Myth Busters and see the guys measuring things on screens for movie myths? It would be like that. "Guy in room A. Guy is approx X tall, get reference. Guy is Y away from wall, use X as reference tool. Compare spot in room to room in building use blueprints." While it would seem completely cool to do to a sleeping target for Ss & Gs I don't see it working for those that might move around. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

As far as camera drones, if you can pin-point their location to a minute figure and they have a range finder on them (and maybe ultra-sound for mapping) and are hooked up to a computer to calculate it all, then that might be an option. Now if Commlinks have GPS and the technology has gotten more accurate then you could probably use that too, if you have a good hacker friend.

+Quote Post
PoliteMan
post Nov 16 2010, 06:53 AM
Post #3

Moving Target

Member No.: 18,889