> Need help building my first campaign, Almost never GMed before :S
Veynom
post Mar 19 2011, 01:27 PM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 24,676

Ok so here's what's going on...
I initiated my girlfriend to RPG a little before last year's christmas holidays and she's been hooked ever since. And she only tried Marvel Super Heroes and SR3. She also played a lot of World of Warcraft and reaaaally liked it...
After I had her meet some of my old high school buddies (whit whom I used to play for a major part of a decade) we ended up starting two SR games. She took the ball and started running with it like a pro. Couldn't be happier. Only problem is... I started playing RPGs back in '92... and never GMed anything besides super-hero stuff... and now, some of my friends are asking me to GM a SR3 campaign.
It scares the drek outta me. As soon as I have more than one NPC to run at the same time, they end up loosing a whole lot of.... substance... ie, instead of RPing my NPCs, I'll start saying that "the guy tells you that and that"...

Of course, if I'm to GM, I'll go with something I like... SR has been my favorite for the last 20 years so...
My setting is rather a "light" version of Shadowrun though... When I GM it, Lone Star ain't THAT present around town, control points between zones in Seattle, we barely ever see them, heck, I usually don't even use the different zones (Redmond, Barrens, etc...), TBH, I usually only use the old downtown Seattle map from the SR1 core rulebook.

So, yeah, I want to build some sort of setting but, so far, I seriously doubt I'm going the right way...
I kinda adapted a variant race of the Night Ones (since my GF likes WoW that much) and incorporated the Blood Elves. Someone told me about the blood elves from Earthdawn and I'm thinking about mixing the 2 concepts together maybe.