IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ritual Spellcasting and Sustaining
Dez384
post May 11 2011, 08:19 PM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 187
Joined: 3-May 11
Member No.: 29,372



I've perused the corebook and Street Magic and am unsure of a few things:

1) Can a spell that is cast ritually be sustained? I see no reason why not, but I do not see a line confirming this.
2) Assuming that a ritually cast spell can be sustained, is it just the leader who sustains it or the entire circle?


I would be glad if anyone had any insight to this matter.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mr. Smileys
post May 11 2011, 08:44 PM
Post #2


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 19-April 11
Member No.: 28,294



I looked through the books and could not find any specific rules on this but i would say Yes to the first question and that the leader would have to be the one sustaining it unless you used a sustaining focus, but that focus would still have to be bonded to the leader.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tymeaus Jalynsfe...
post May 11 2011, 08:53 PM
Post #3


Prime Runner Ascendant
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 17,568
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Aurora, Colorado
Member No.: 17,022



Well, Ritual Spells are still spells, so they would (should) use the same rules for Spell Sustainment that Normal Spellcasting Uses (Sustained by Leader (Primary Spellcaster), Sustaining Focus, or by Spirit Sustainment). Do you see any reason that they should not follow the same rules? Regardless, there are no references to such rules in the books when it comes to Spell Sustainment other than the normal ones used for Normal Spellcasting.

That is how we do it anyways. It Only makes sense. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wobble.gif)

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dez384
post May 11 2011, 09:04 PM
Post #4


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 187
Joined: 3-May 11
Member No.: 29,372



QUOTE (Tymeaus Jalynsfein @ May 11 2011, 03:53 PM) *
That is how we do it anyways. It Only makes sense. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wobble.gif)


It does make sense. It is what I had assumed; I was just checking that my assumptions aren't crazy.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tymeaus Jalynsfe...
post May 11 2011, 09:57 PM
Post #5


Prime Runner Ascendant
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 17,568
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Aurora, Colorado
Member No.: 17,022



QUOTE (Dez384 @ May 11 2011, 02:04 PM) *
It does make sense. It is what I had assumed; I was just checking that my assumptions aren't crazy.


Not crazy at all...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th May 2024 - 08:29 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.