IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Stupid question time-Nonconductivity ?, Pondering the Pondering
Warlordtheft
post Jul 18 2011, 06:01 PM
Post #1


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,325
Joined: 2-April 07
From: The Center of the Universe
Member No.: 11,360



Another topic raised another question when I thought about it (SNS):

Simple question, does wearing multiple layers of non conductive armor stack. Say you're wearing Formfit, the shinguards, the forearm guards, and an armor jacket. All with nonconductivity of rating 6 on each.


Would that stack if the armors non conductivity stack to give you 24 extra dice to resist electrical damage?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tymeaus Jalynsfe...
post Jul 18 2011, 06:09 PM
Post #2


Prime Runner Ascendant
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 17,568
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Aurora, Colorado
Member No.: 17,022



QUOTE (Warlordtheft @ Jul 18 2011, 11:01 AM) *
Another topic raised another question when I thought about it (SNS):

Simple question, does wearing multiple layers of non conductive armor stack. Say you're wearing Formfit, the shinguards, the forearm guards, and an armor jacket. All with nonconductivity of rating 6 on each.


Would that stack if the armors non conductivity stack to give you 24 extra dice to resist electrical damage?



Well, by the rules, PPP Shinguards and Forearm guards modify the rating of the armor they are worn with, so you cannot use the rules to add Nonconductive to them individually. As for the FFBA and the Armored Jacket, they can both be augmented with Nonconductivity. I might allow them to stack. I'm not sure. Normally you take the best rating, but since FFBA and Armor Jacket can stack, the theory is that you could add them ratings of Nonconductivity together.

*Shrug*

(IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CanRay
post Jul 18 2011, 06:10 PM
Post #3


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 14,358
Joined: 2-December 07
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Member No.: 14,465



Just thinking of something... Kinky Rubber Catsuit? (IMG:style_emoticons/default/nyahnyah.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post Jul 18 2011, 06:13 PM
Post #4


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 14,516
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



QUOTE (CanRay @ Jul 18 2011, 08:10 PM) *
Just thinking of something... Kinky Rubber Catsuit? (IMG:style_emoticons/default/nyahnyah.gif)

nothing kinky about that, as long as it's not bubba in there . . then it's straight into disturbing . .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mäx
post Jul 18 2011, 06:20 PM
Post #5


Prime Runner
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,803
Joined: 3-February 08
From: Finland
Member No.: 15,628



QUOTE (Tymeaus Jalynsfein @ Jul 18 2011, 09:09 PM) *
Well, by the rules, PPP Shinguards and Forearm guards modify the rating of the armor they are worn with, so you cannot use the rules to add Nonconductive to them individually. As for the FFBA and the Armored Jacket, they can both be augmented with Nonconductivity. I might allow them to stack. I'm not sure. Normally you take the best rating, but since FFBA and Armor Jacket can stack, the theory is that you could add them ratings of Nonconductivity together.

I would personally say that you can stack the non-conductivity(or any of the other mods) from different armors, up to the normal max rating of 6.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tymeaus Jalynsfe...
post Jul 18 2011, 06:25 PM
Post #6


Prime Runner Ascendant
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 17,568
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Aurora, Colorado
Member No.: 17,022



QUOTE (Mäx @ Jul 18 2011, 11:20 AM) *
I would personally say that you can stack the non-conductivity(or any of the other mods) from different armors, up to the normal max rating of 6.


Which also works... (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hida Tsuzua
post Jul 18 2011, 06:33 PM
Post #7


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 328
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,353



Technically, they do. The closest the rules say about it is under shields where they say the highest of modifications to shield or armor applies. Sadly rather than being a general rule that I bet the writers intended, it's written as a specific rule (a common shadowrun issue). In practice, I think most GMs wouldn't allow it or limit it in some way (like Max's way).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post Jul 18 2011, 06:44 PM
Post #8


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 14,516
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



wait, if only the highest modification counts, then what happens if the modifications are equal?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hida Tsuzua
post Jul 18 2011, 06:53 PM
Post #9


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 328
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,353



QUOTE (Stahlseele @ Jul 18 2011, 07:44 PM) *
wait, if only the highest modification counts, then what happens if the modifications are equal?


Awfully pedantic of you. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/nyahnyah.gif) Alright I misquoted. It's the wearer's choice. Which will be the highest value or whatever value they both share 99% of the time.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post Jul 18 2011, 06:54 PM
Post #10


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 14,516
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



QUOTE (Hida Tsuzua @ Jul 18 2011, 08:53 PM) *
Awfully pedantic of you. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/nyahnyah.gif) Alright I misquoted. It's the wearer's choice. Which will be the highest value or whatever value they both share 99% of the time.

pedantic is what we do ^^
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Miri
post Jul 18 2011, 06:59 PM
Post #11


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 271
Joined: 5-July 11
From: Firebase Zulu
Member No.: 32,769



Wear your suit, modify your shoes to have conductive plates in the sole. Modify the suit so that the conductive 'fibers' all tie into those plates in your shoes.. someone shoots you with SnS rounds and both feet on the ground.. the electricity gets grounded out into the ground below you. There are apparently room temp superconductors so it wouldn't be a matter of too much voltage/amperage for the fibers to handle.. just dependent on what kind of surface you are standing on and can it ground out all the electricity.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2020 - 11:37 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.