IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Increased Attribute Spell, Exceeding the augmented max?
The Collector
post Jul 20 2011, 02:53 AM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 25-June 11
Member No.: 32,130



I apologize if there is already a post about this, but I was very curious. The description of the spell says that the force must equal or exceed the attribute being affected. So if this spell's effects are subject to augmented maximums, then you can only use this spell if your attribute is 4 or lower, because since the force must equal the attribute, 4+4 is 8, which is below. But 5+5 is 10, too high. Thoughts?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Draco18s
post Jul 20 2011, 02:55 AM
Post #2


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,289
Joined: 2-October 08
Member No.: 16,392



The spell makes no sense as written.
Move on.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Collector
post Jul 20 2011, 02:59 AM
Post #3


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 25-June 11
Member No.: 32,130



I was hoping you or anyone had ideas about possible house-rules or other interpretations. I'm going for team buff.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tymeaus Jalynsfe...
post Jul 20 2011, 03:14 AM
Post #4


Prime Runner Ascendant
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 17,568
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Aurora, Colorado
Member No.: 17,022



QUOTE (The Collector @ Jul 19 2011, 08:53 PM) *
I apologize if there is already a post about this, but I was very curious. The description of the spell says that the force must equal or exceed the attribute being affected. So if this spell's effects are subject to augmented maximums, then you can only use this spell if your attribute is 4 or lower, because since the force must equal the attribute, 4+4 is 8, which is below. But 5+5 is 10, too high. Thoughts?


If you have an Attribute of 4, the Force of the Spell must be at least 4. If you have an Attribute of 7, the Force of the Spell must be at least 7. The Maximum Augmented Attribute is still the same (9 for Humans, regardless of hits attained on the Spell). (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mäx
post Jul 20 2011, 03:25 AM
Post #5


Prime Runner
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,803
Joined: 3-February 08
From: Finland
Member No.: 15,628



QUOTE (The Collector @ Jul 20 2011, 05:53 AM) *
I apologize if there is already a post about this, but I was very curious. The description of the spell says that the force must equal or exceed the attribute being affected. So if this spell's effects are subject to augmented maximums, then you can only use this spell if your attribute is 4 or lower, because since the force must equal the attribute, 4+4 is 8, which is below. But 5+5 is 10, too high. Thoughts?

Whut?
The force of the spell must equal the attribute you want to boost, so if you have attribute 4 the force must be atleast 4 and if the attribute is 6 the force must be atleast 6, if your a vanilla human then in both cases the spell can raise the attribute up to the augmented max of 9 if you get enought hits(in the case of attribute 4, the spell must be cast at force 5 as you neet 5 hits to reach the max and the force limits the number of the hits)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ggodo
post Jul 20 2011, 03:46 AM
Post #6


Moving Target
**

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 963
Joined: 15-February 11
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 21,972



My question is on a similar subject, but for adepts. Attribute Boost Body, does its boost aid against the drain?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fikealox
post Jul 20 2011, 04:16 AM
Post #7


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 23-September 10
Member No.: 19,064



I'd say no, because the drain is resisted 'when the boost runs out' (which suggests, although not unambiguously, that it is after the boost runs out).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ggodo
post Jul 20 2011, 05:13 AM
Post #8


Moving Target
**

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 963
Joined: 15-February 11
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 21,972



That's kinda what I thought, but I really wasn't sure.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fringe
post Jul 20 2011, 04:24 PM
Post #9


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 151
Joined: 18-February 10
Member No.: 18,170



QUOTE (The Collector @ Jul 19 2011, 09:53 PM) *
I apologize if there is already a post about this, but I was very curious. The description of the spell says that the force must equal or exceed the attribute being affected. So if this spell's effects are subject to augmented maximums, then you can only use this spell if your attribute is 4 or lower, because since the force must equal the attribute, 4+4 is 8, which is below. But 5+5 is 10, too high. Thoughts?


Augmented max for human is 9 (others metatypes vary). Yes, you have to cast at a force >= current attribute, and you're capped at (force) hits. But you can still benefit from the IA (Willpower) if your Willpower is 7...you're just more limited in what you get out of it for the effort you're spending. (As a human, you could only benefit from 2 hits worth of effect.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th May 2024 - 07:11 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.