IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Sustaining Foci?
yesferatu
post Mar 27 2012, 03:47 PM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 352
Joined: 10-August 10
From: Madison, WI
Member No.: 18,916



Hey guys, quick thing.
Sustaining Foci...
1. How many spells can you sustain at once with one? Is it just one? Would you need 3 separate foci to sustain invisibility, armor and increased reflexes?
2. Can you "break" a focus by overcasting through either a sustaining or casting focus?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Warlordtheft
post Mar 27 2012, 03:56 PM
Post #2


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,328
Joined: 2-April 07
From: The Center of the Universe
Member No.: 11,360



QUOTE (yesferatu @ Mar 27 2012, 11:47 AM) *
Hey guys, quick thing.
Sustaining Foci...
1. How many spells can you sustain at once with one? Is it just one? Would you need 3 separate foci to sustain invisibility, armor and increased reflexes?

On spell per focus.


QUOTE (yesferatu @ Mar 27 2012, 11:47 AM) *
2. Can you "break" a focus by overcasting through either a sustaining or casting focus?

Not normally (on a glitch you might, but that is at the GM discretions). Note the highest force spell you can use in a sustaining focus is the rating of the focus. A casting focus is different (spell category or power focus), and just adds dice to your rolls and is not impacted by the force of the spell cast.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Makki
post Mar 27 2012, 03:56 PM
Post #3


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,373
Joined: 14-January 10
From: Stuttgart, Germany
Member No.: 18,036



1. yes, just one
2. no. foci don't care whether overcasting or not.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yerameyahu
post Mar 27 2012, 03:57 PM
Post #4


Advocatus Diaboli
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,994
Joined: 20-November 07
From: USA
Member No.: 14,282



You need separate or 'stacked', yes.

You can't break it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Notsoevildm
post Mar 27 2012, 03:57 PM
Post #5


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,547
Joined: 29-July 10
From: PAN Hidden
Member No.: 18,869



Off the top of my head:

1. I think each focus can only sustain one spell. It's how I've always played them, but this may be a holdover from previous editions.
2. Don't think you can break a focus by overcasting. Also, not worth it for sustaining foci as they can only sustain a spell with a force less than or equal to their rating.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
yesferatu
post Mar 27 2012, 04:18 PM
Post #6


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 352
Joined: 10-August 10
From: Madison, WI
Member No.: 18,916



So on #2, there wouldn't be any problem overcasting Armor through a sustaining focus with or without edge?
I'm not sure if I'm worried about breaking the focus so much as generating more hits than the focus force.
Is the force of a spell hard-capped by the force of the sustaining focus?

If I overcast an armor spell at force 10 through a force 5 sustaining focus...how many hits count?
Let's say I get 9 hits. Without a focus, that's 9 hits. If I roll 9 hits through a focus...do only 5 count?


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Warlordtheft
post Mar 27 2012, 04:22 PM
Post #7


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,328
Joined: 2-April 07
From: The Center of the Universe
Member No.: 11,360



You cannot put a force 10 spell in a rating 5 focus. If you used edge in casting for a force 5 focus to get more hits than normally allowed, the spell is still at force 5 and would work. Not that the number of hits you get is independent of the force of the spell for the purposes of sustaining foci, just that normally the force of the spell limits the number of hits you can get.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yerameyahu
post Mar 27 2012, 04:24 PM
Post #8


Advocatus Diaboli
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,994
Joined: 20-November 07
From: USA
Member No.: 14,282



So yes: there's no problem 'overfilling' a focus, because you can't do it. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
KarmaInferno
post Mar 27 2012, 05:06 PM
Post #9


Old Man Jones
********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 4,415
Joined: 26-February 02
From: New York
Member No.: 1,699



Unless Edge gets involved.

Technically Edge hits can go over the focus limits, the way the text is worded.

But many GMs don't allow that.




-k
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yerameyahu
post Mar 27 2012, 05:08 PM
Post #10


Advocatus Diaboli
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,994
Joined: 20-November 07
From: USA
Member No.: 14,282



Yes, but as people said: that's hits, not force. The force can't go over.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
yesferatu
post Mar 27 2012, 05:32 PM
Post #11


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 352
Joined: 10-August 10
From: Madison, WI
Member No.: 18,916



So...if I used edge and got like 8 successes through a force 5 focus...how many hits count?
I think I only mentioned overcasting because it is one of two ways to lift or increase the force cap.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yerameyahu
post Mar 27 2012, 05:44 PM
Post #12


Advocatus Diaboli
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,994
Joined: 20-November 07
From: USA
Member No.: 14,282



The GM has to decide. Some (many?) people think that Edge lets you 'store' and sustain as many hits as you like. (Some think that only hits from the Edge dice count? I dunno.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Warlordtheft
post Mar 27 2012, 05:59 PM
Post #13


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,328
Joined: 2-April 07
From: The Center of the Universe
Member No.: 11,360



QUOTE (yesferatu @ Mar 27 2012, 01:32 PM) *
So...if I used edge and got like 8 successes through a force 5 focus...how many hits count?
I think I only mentioned overcasting because it is one of two ways to lift or increase the force cap.


By RAW all 8 hits counts. Though as pointed out, some GM's could house rule it otherwise.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Draco18s
post Mar 27 2012, 06:03 PM
Post #14


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,289
Joined: 2-October 08
Member No.: 16,392



QUOTE (yesferatu @ Mar 27 2012, 10:47 AM) *
1. How many spells can you sustain at once with one? Is it just one? Would you need 3 separate foci to sustain invisibility, armor and increased reflexes?


Even ignoring the "1 spell per focus" rule, you still couldn't maintain all three of those spells with one focus.
One is an illusion spell, one is a manipulation spell, and the third is health.

Sustaining foci are not "any spell" they're bound to a specific type (Health, Illusion, Manipulation, and so on).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
yesferatu
post Mar 27 2012, 06:38 PM
Post #15


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 352
Joined: 10-August 10
From: Madison, WI
Member No.: 18,916



I totally forgot about that Draco18s.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SpellBinder
post Mar 27 2012, 10:05 PM
Post #16


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,351
Joined: 19-September 09
From: Behind the shadows of the Resonance
Member No.: 17,653



Well, either most are or it's another typo to add to the mess as Lugh Surehand is listed as having two Force 10 Sustaning Foci (Street Legends, page 39; his pinky rings). No type of magic is indicated, unlike his combat and manipulation counterspelling foci.

If it's not a typo, then every magician that knows this are going to want to know how they were made.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Thanee
post Mar 27 2012, 10:23 PM
Post #17


jacked in
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,046
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 463



QUOTE (Draco18s @ Mar 27 2012, 08:03 PM) *
Sustaining foci are not "any spell" they're bound to a specific type (Health, Illusion, Manipulation, and so on).


Yep. That is something a lot seem to miss (like the writers of Street Legends, apparantly). (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

Bye
Thanee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Halinn
post Mar 28 2012, 05:15 AM
Post #18


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,018
Joined: 3-July 10
Member No.: 18,786



QUOTE (Thanee @ Mar 28 2012, 12:23 AM) *
Yep. That is something a lot seem to miss (like the writers of Street Legends, apparantly). (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

Bye
Thanee


Well, they could be some ancient semi-unique artifacts.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Glyph
post Mar 28 2012, 06:07 AM
Post #19


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,116
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,449



I think it's likelier to be an incomplete description - from what I hear, the entries don't always nail down all of the details.

On Edge used for casting a spell onto a sustaining focus - keep in mind that it uncaps hits (assuming a GM allows it; it is RAW, but so is empathy software, and a lot of GMs nix that, too), but does not affect things dependent purely on the Force of the spell. In other words, Edge might let you meet the threshold of 4 to get the maximum initiative bonus even though you are using a rating: 2 sustaining focus for the increase reflexes spell. But you couldn't use that spell to sustain an increase [Body] spell if your Body was higher than 2, because the Force of the spell has to be equal or higher than the Attribute you are increasing.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wraith235
post Mar 28 2012, 12:37 PM
Post #20


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 182
Joined: 22-January 07
Member No.: 10,736



Blech Double post
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wraith235
post Mar 28 2012, 12:45 PM
Post #21


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 182
Joined: 22-January 07
Member No.: 10,736



QUOTE (Draco18s @ Mar 27 2012, 02:03 PM) *
Sustaining foci are not "any spell" they're bound to a specific type (Health, Illusion, Manipulation, and so on).



forgive me .... but this is the 1st Ive heard of this ... I know it is the case for spellcasting foci but never heard of it for sustaining Foci

Source quote please ? *opens his own book to shuffle through*

Edit .... wow ... ya I did miss this ... well learn something new every day

hmmmm after closer inspection I see how this can be misinterpreted ... yet another instance of bad editing ..... Catagory is mentioned in the "Spell foci" Header ... and in the 1st 2 examples (Spellcasting / counterspelling) but not in sustaining ... horay for another RAW vs. RAI point ....

you've mentioned that street legends it was "Overlooked" ? I have to wonder about that now

I am now searching for other "flubs" to see if they are in any other printed stuff"

ok ... after a brief Search through a couple of print mods I have found some examples

Dawn of the artifacts 2
Dawn of the artifacts 4

Both have several examples of Sustaining foci not being catagory specific

can anyone else find some examples in print where they are catagory specific ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
phlapjack77
post Mar 28 2012, 01:23 PM
Post #22


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,473
Joined: 24-May 10
From: Beijing
Member No.: 18,611



Seems pretty clear that sustaining foci are tied to a category, using SR4A, p199

Spell Foci
Spell foci empower a magician’s Sorcery skills. There are three types of spell foci: Spellcasting foci, Counterspelling foci, and Sustaining foci. Each spell focus must be attuned to a specific category of spells (Combat, Detection, Health, etc.) when it is created, and this cannot be changed.

I see what you mean about the "category appropriate to the focus" text examples, but I think an omission of that same text from the sustaining focus example doesn't mean anything. The rule has already been given on the very same page, so not repeating the rule in that particular example is not particularly interesting.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wraith235
post Mar 28 2012, 01:40 PM
Post #23


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 182
Joined: 22-January 07
Member No.: 10,736



QUOTE (phlapjack77 @ Mar 28 2012, 09:23 AM) *
Seems pretty clear that sustaining foci are tied to a category, using SR4A, p199

Spell Foci
Spell foci empower a magician’s Sorcery skills. There are three types of spell foci: Spellcasting foci, Counterspelling foci, and Sustaining foci. Each spell focus must be attuned to a specific category of spells (Combat, Detection, Health, etc.) when it is created, and this cannot be changed.

I see what you mean about the "category appropriate to the focus" text examples, but I think an omission of that same text from the sustaining focus example doesn't mean anything. The rule has already been given on the very same page, so not repeating the rule in that particular example is not particularly interesting.


dont get me wrong ... Im not arguing the text .... however I AM Finding lack of support in Printed SR4 Mods .... Im abpout to go through all the missions and everything else Searching for something to support the catagory argument

Im searching based on the fact that this is a fairly drastic change from previous editions (not that I havent seen anything like it before)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Draco18s
post Mar 28 2012, 01:41 PM
Post #24


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,289
Joined: 2-October 08
Member No.: 16,392



QUOTE (Glyph @ Mar 28 2012, 01:07 AM) *
I think it's likelier to be an incomplete description - from what I hear, the entries don't always nail down all of the details.

On Edge used for casting a spell onto a sustaining focus - keep in mind that it uncaps hits (assuming a GM allows it; it is RAW, but so is empathy software, and a lot of GMs nix that, too), but does not affect things dependent purely on the Force of the spell. In other words, Edge might let you meet the threshold of 4 to get the maximum initiative bonus even though you are using a rating: 2 sustaining focus for the increase reflexes spell. But you couldn't use that spell to sustain an increase [Body] spell if your Body was higher than 2, because the Force of the spell has to be equal or higher than the Attribute you are increasing.


You got a source for this? I'm certain you are correct, but I am unable to locate the rules.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Thanee
post Mar 28 2012, 01:51 PM
Post #25


jacked in
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,046
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 463



SR4A p. 182.

Note, that only Edge dice get a free pass past the spell's Force.

If you use Edge to reroll your non-hits, for example, the whole test will still be limited by the spell's Force, because you do not use any Edge dice.

If you add Edge to your dice pool before or after the test, you have to roll them seperately (or use different colored dice) to make sure, which hits count against the Force and which do not.

Bye
Thanee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st May 2024 - 02:16 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.