IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Shadowrun Dice App
nylanfs
post Dec 10 2012, 04:54 AM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 365
Joined: 10-November 08
Member No.: 16,576



So my wife got me a smartphone for xmas. Anyone know of a good dice roller for an android phone? Preferably one that I can set the target number & roll 20 dice. If I had to shake the phone to roll that would be cool also.

Also can anyone suggest any other apps for gaming? I play in a SR and Pathfinder game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tanegar
post Dec 10 2012, 05:30 AM
Post #2


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,649
Joined: 29-October 06
Member No.: 9,731



My choice is Mobile Runner. It doesn't have variable TNs, but it does everything else, including a "dice cup" where you shake the phone to roll.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pbangarth
post Dec 10 2012, 05:54 AM
Post #3


Old Man of the North
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 7,470
Joined: 14-August 03
From: Toronto - centre of the universe
Member No.: 5,463



I just looked up Mobile Runner, even though I don't have an Android phone. Call me a paranoid runner, but the permissions it has seem awful powerful and very useful to a malicious hacker.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
All4BigGuns
post Dec 10 2012, 06:05 AM
Post #4


Former Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 814
Joined: 15-July 12
Member No.: 53,042



Just looked it up online and the browser immediately flagged the site as untrustworthy. I think you're right pbangarth, not paranoid.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tanegar
post Dec 10 2012, 06:10 AM
Post #5


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,649
Joined: 29-October 06
Member No.: 9,731



Egad. App deleted.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ravensmuse
post Dec 10 2012, 11:47 AM
Post #6


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 5-December 07
From: Lower UCAS, along the border
Member No.: 14,507



There's one on the iPhone (I know, I know) whose free version just allows dice rolling, but you have to buy it for like, $5 in order to customize the rolls.

What's the legal policy on these things? Can you really charge five bucks for a dice app for a game someone else owns?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sengir
post Dec 10 2012, 12:06 PM
Post #7


Dragon
********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 4,986
Joined: 3-October 09
From: Kohle, Stahl und Bier
Member No.: 17,709



QUOTE (pbangarth @ Dec 10 2012, 06:54 AM) *
I just looked up Mobile Runner, even though I don't have an Android phone. Call me a paranoid runner, but the permissions it has seem awful powerful and very useful to a malicious hacker.

Die App benötigt READ_PHONE_STATE, damit sie mitbekommt, wenn das Telefon klingelt und in den Hintergrund schalten kann. INTERNET und WRITE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE werden benötigt, um .chum-Dateien herunterladen und auf der Speicherkarte speichern zu können. CAMERA wird benötigt, um URL über einen QR-Code einscannen zu können.

READ_PHONE_STATE is required to switch to the background on an incoming call, INTERNET and WRITE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE for downloading .chum files, and CAMERA for reading QR codes.


Personally I use DieDroid, very clean display, highlights successes and ones, and has the added charm of being FOSS...Mobile Runner was really sluggish when I tried it a few versions back, though maybe that has been fixed in the meantime.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tanegar
post Dec 10 2012, 03:14 PM
Post #8


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,649
Joined: 29-October 06
Member No.: 9,731



I downloaded DieDroid. It is, indeed, an admirably clean and simple app, does everything I need it to do, and does everything the OP wants with the exception of being able to shake the phone to roll.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pbangarth
post Dec 10 2012, 03:37 PM
Post #9


Old Man of the North
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 7,470
Joined: 14-August 03
From: Toronto - centre of the universe
Member No.: 5,463



QUOTE (Sengir @ Dec 10 2012, 07:06 AM) *
READ_PHONE_STATE is required to switch to the background on an incoming call, INTERNET and WRITE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE for downloading .chum files, and CAMERA for reading QR codes.
Yeah, I see how those functions work. I just wonder about why it needs to know the phone number to which you are connected (or your own number for that matter), and worry about phrases like "without your confirmation".
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sengir
post Dec 10 2012, 04:14 PM
Post #10


Dragon
********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 4,986
Joined: 3-October 09
From: Kohle, Stahl und Bier
Member No.: 17,709



QUOTE (pbangarth @ Dec 10 2012, 04:37 PM) *
Yeah, I see how those functions work. I just wonder about why it needs to know the phone number to which you are connected (or your own number for that matter), and worry about phrases like "without your confirmation".

Permissions on Android are not fine-grained enough to specify "check whether a call is incoming but don't see any details about the call" or "only modify files with .chum extension in folder X", accordingly those warnings are boilerplate texts for what an app with this category of permissions COULD do, not what this app actually DOES. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
All4BigGuns
post Dec 10 2012, 04:38 PM
Post #11


Former Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 814
Joined: 15-July 12
Member No.: 53,042



QUOTE (Sengir @ Dec 10 2012, 10:14 AM) *
Permissions on Android are not fine-grained enough to specify "check whether a call is incoming but don't see any details about the call" or "only modify files with .chum extension in folder X", accordingly those warnings are boilerplate texts for what an app with this category of permissions COULD do, not what this app actually DOES. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)


Doesn't change that my browser flagged the website as untrustworthy within a second of typing it into the address bar.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bannockburn
post Dec 10 2012, 04:44 PM
Post #12


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,593
Joined: 22-April 12
From: somewhere far beyond sanity
Member No.: 51,886



The app is supported by Pegasus (the German publisher, if you don't know them) and constantly being worked on. It's safe, but of course, you can panic all you want ^^
My browser sometimes flags some of the webcomics I read daily as untrustworthy ... it's often a problem with the ads they run. In general, caution is to be applauded, but in this case there's a mile long thread in the Pegasus forum that tells me it's alright (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sengir
post Dec 10 2012, 04:48 PM
Post #13


Dragon
********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 4,986
Joined: 3-October 09
From: Kohle, Stahl und Bier
Member No.: 17,709



QUOTE (All4BigGuns @ Dec 10 2012, 05:38 PM) *
Doesn't change that my browser flagged the website as untrustworthy within a second of typing it into the address bar.

What site, Play Store? Also, I tend to give not too much about blacklists, they are an indication at best...just about every server has probably been on one at some point.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
All4BigGuns
post Dec 10 2012, 05:23 PM
Post #14


Former Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 814
Joined: 15-July 12
Member No.: 53,042



QUOTE (Sengir @ Dec 10 2012, 10:48 AM) *
What site, Play Store? Also, I tend to give not too much about blacklists, they are an indication at best...just about every server has probably been on one at some point.


Heck no. I tested the waters with my desktop first. After seeing that, I ain't touchin' it with a ten foot pole.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
KarmaInferno
post Dec 10 2012, 08:06 PM
Post #15


Old Man Jones
********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 4,415
Joined: 26-February 02
From: New York
Member No.: 1,699



play.google.com?

The official app store for Android?






-k
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sengir
post Dec 10 2012, 10:35 PM
Post #16


Dragon
********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 4,986
Joined: 3-October 09
From: Kohle, Stahl und Bier
Member No.: 17,709



QUOTE (All4BigGuns @ Dec 10 2012, 06:23 PM) *
Heck no. I tested the waters with my desktop first. After seeing that

Again, on which site did you see "that"?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nylanfs
post Dec 13 2012, 02:22 AM
Post #17


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 365
Joined: 10-November 08
Member No.: 16,576



Okay I am definitely liking DieDroid, wish it had saved pools though. Anything else recommended?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Buccaneer
post Jan 7 2013, 02:11 PM
Post #18


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 5-August 08
From: Hamburg (AGS)
Member No.: 16,206



QUOTE (All4BigGuns @ Dec 10 2012, 05:38 PM) *
Doesn't change that my browser flagged the website as untrustworthy within a second of typing it into the address bar.

I suppose you write about the website given in the Play-Store? http://www.quintanion.net ?

As the developer of the Mobile Runner (and the website) I am very interested in the reason why your browser didn't like the website.
I know, the site is far away from good looking. But I know about no reason why it should be flagged as untrustworthy.
Which browser did you use and what causes the alert?

Greetings from Hamburg

Buc
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nylanfs
post Jan 7 2013, 05:18 PM
Post #19


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 365
Joined: 10-November 08
Member No.: 16,576



Hello Buc, I'm using Firefox 17.0.1 and it didn't come up as flagged, of course I'm only using Windows 7 with the basic MS Security Essentials here at work though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
KCKitsune
post Jan 7 2013, 09:04 PM
Post #20


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,132
Joined: 9-February 08
From: Boiling Springs
Member No.: 15,665



I use Dice Bag. Simple, clean, can be configured for Target numbers, and requires no permissions at all.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nylanfs
post Jan 9 2013, 05:25 AM
Post #21


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 365
Joined: 10-November 08
Member No.: 16,576



Heya Buccaner, is there a way you could include HeroLab import? I can get you several versions of the xml output from my character if you need something to reference.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th December 2019 - 05:26 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.