Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Looking for SR4/5 software ideas/interests
coffeeaddict
post Jun 29 2013, 03:07 PM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 119,066

To introduce myself since this is my first post here...I work as a developer at a small software company...I'm interested in writing some open source (free) software tools for SR4/5 for my own professional development/amusement...I would like to know if there is a definite need for anything that is off the beaten track.

This excludes what work has already been done by Lone Wolf Dev (Hero Labs) and Chummer. This also excludes any tool that would require wholesale piracy of content in the books (i.e. no database of runner gear, however cool that would be). That also kind of throws out any kind of character generator (since it has already been done ten times over) unless it fulfills some kind of niche that nobody has started working on.

All of that said, for players and GMs out there for SR4/5, are there any well defined software tools that you would like to have to make running/playing games easier for you?

At this point I've written a small tool for filtering/searching through spells for Pathfinder. I'm trying to find something new to do with SR4/5.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Not of this Worl...
post Jun 29 2013, 03:09 PM
Post #2

Moving Target

Member No.: 217

There aren't very many of us who even know what is really in the SR5 book. I would wait a few more weeks then ask this question again.

+Quote Post
Sunshine
post Jun 29 2013, 03:44 PM
Post #3

Moving Target

Member No.: 7,312

I'd love to see some sort of combat calculator/ Simulator for sr5 with some template characters (Gangers, Sec Guards, Drones, Spirits, Sprites, Critters). So if my players go off track I could fire the program up and have a Squad of X with Initative Order, Pools, etc. and a comfy UI (a Dodge button, -5 Initatve, a Condition Button like Visibiltiy/ Cover/ Prone/ Running), etc.