![]() |
![]() ![]() |
![]() |
![]()
Post
#1
|
|
Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 3,039 Joined: 23-March 05 From: The heart of Rywfol Emwolb Industries Member No.: 7,216 ![]() |
I am wrapping my head around the preparations and understand that a lynchpin has to remain intact for it to be able to trigger, fair enough.
Once the spell goes off, if it has a duration the spell is sustained for (potency) minutes. All well and good. But the question I have is, does the lynchpin have to remain intact throughout said duration or if it is damaged would that end the sustained spell early? Had a thought about Capture Arrows, basically Arrow with a lynchpin stuck on a sticky beanbag-like head (non-lethal) with a Physical Barrier spell set for Dome Shape. Idea is shoot the target, assuming they fix the contact trigger issue in forthcoming magic splats or fall back on a command once I see its on the target, stored barrier is triggered and a big shiny dome pops around the target, keeping them contained while we get closer to subdue. But, if the critter inside now destroys the arrowhead, would that break the sustained spell prematurely? If it was a mage, knocking out the mage can break a sustained spell, but not sure if lynchpin plays the same or not and not seeing this explained beyond duration based on Potency. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#2
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 576 Joined: 6-May 10 From: Front Range Free Zone Member No.: 18,558 ![]() |
I'd say once it activates the lynchpin did its job and the spell does its thing.
Or else a healing potion would never work since once you drink it, the subject's stomach acids would destroy the lynchpin making it pointless. And I like the ideas of potions too much to allow ambiguous rules to mess with that. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#3
|
|
Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 2,575 Joined: 5-February 10 Member No.: 18,115 ![]() |
I'd say the only reason you even need a lynchpin is to hold the magic of the preparation in a dormant state until it is needed. The preparation itself is a magical construct - the lynchpin is just a "container" for that magic. When the lynchpin triggers you could Counterspell the effect, but in my opinion destroying the lynchpin itself shouldn't stop the magic from going off once it's been activated.
~Umi |
|
|
![]()
Post
#4
|
|
Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 3,039 Joined: 23-March 05 From: The heart of Rywfol Emwolb Industries Member No.: 7,216 ![]() |
I thought as much, especially in the case of potions, but with a sustained effect normally requiring a mage to maintain a minimum effort of focus, just wondered if the same applied via the lynchpin.
It would be easier if once the spell triggers the lynchpin is no longer required as part of the ongoing equation, but always good to double check. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif) |
|
|
![]()
Post
#5
|
|
Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 2,575 Joined: 5-February 10 Member No.: 18,115 ![]() |
I actually started a thread a while back asking about how preparation sustaining works, among other things.
The answer seems to have been a few quiet coughs, some awkard shuffling of feet, and a unanimous agreement that we'd probably just have to wait for the splat books... ~Umi |
|
|
![]()
Post
#6
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 598 Joined: 12-October 05 Member No.: 7,835 ![]() |
Make a grenade a contact trigger for a domed barrier for the extra chunky salsa damage. And to protect your team too.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#7
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 576 Joined: 6-May 10 From: Front Range Free Zone Member No.: 18,558 ![]() |
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#8
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 490 Joined: 29-August 06 From: Texas Member No.: 9,245 ![]() |
|
|
|
![]() ![]() |
![]() |
Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 17th June 2025 - 05:45 PM |
Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.