IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> SR5 Spells: sustained require line of sight?
entropysoda
post Dec 6 2013, 03:25 PM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 26-January 06
Member No.: 8,200



Is line of sight needed to sustain a spell?

Example: Once Physical Mask is cast and sustained on a teammate, can the mage then go home, and the teammate will still have the spell in effect on him?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tymeaus Jalynsfe...
post Dec 6 2013, 03:33 PM
Post #2


Prime Runner Ascendant
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 17,568
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Aurora, Colorado
Member No.: 17,022



QUOTE (entropysoda @ Dec 6 2013, 08:25 AM) *
Is line of sight needed to sustain a spell?

Example: Once Physical Mask is cast and sustained on a teammate, can the mage then go home, and the teammate will still have the spell in effect on him?


No...

Yes... Your example is correct. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DrZaius
post Dec 6 2013, 04:49 PM
Post #3


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,856
Joined: 25-July 07
Member No.: 12,360



QUOTE (Tymeaus Jalynsfein @ Dec 6 2013, 10:33 AM) *
No...

Yes... Your example is correct. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)


I would rule that if the player went through an astral barrier, there might be some issue; "Cutting off the mana" or somesuch. I don't have a rule that applies to though.

-DrZ
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tymeaus Jalynsfe...
post Dec 6 2013, 05:03 PM
Post #4


Prime Runner Ascendant
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 17,568
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Aurora, Colorado
Member No.: 17,022



QUOTE (DrZaius @ Dec 6 2013, 09:49 AM) *
I would rule that if the player went through an astral barrier, there might be some issue; "Cutting off the mana" or somesuch. I don't have a rule that applies to though.

-DrZ


Just like any other spell that interacts with a magical Barrier (Contested Rolls) of any type, of course. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DrZaius
post Dec 6 2013, 05:29 PM
Post #5


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,856
Joined: 25-July 07
Member No.: 12,360



QUOTE (Tymeaus Jalynsfein @ Dec 6 2013, 12:03 PM) *
Just like any other spell that interacts with a magical Barrier (Contested Rolls) of any type, of course. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)


My instinct was backed up by rules! A novel feeling.

-DrZ
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tymeaus Jalynsfe...
post Dec 6 2013, 06:28 PM
Post #6


Prime Runner Ascendant
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 17,568
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Aurora, Colorado
Member No.: 17,022



QUOTE (DrZaius @ Dec 6 2013, 10:29 AM) *
My instinct was backed up by rules! A novel feeling.

-DrZ


No worries... It happens from time to time. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
amra28
post Dec 7 2013, 04:18 AM
Post #7


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 417
Joined: 10-January 06
From: Fords, NJ
Member No.: 8,146



I looked through the rules (both 4th and 5th editions) and was unable to find anything that stated this plainly. Is there any section that someone can reference for us. Our problem is that our GM has a small bias against magic and tends to interpret the rules for magic as he reads them in the book.

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blaze2050
post Dec 7 2013, 10:54 AM
Post #8


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 22-July 12
Member No.: 53,075



I can only remember, that in SR4 it was explicitly stated for critter powers, that they don't need LOS anymore after being "cast" (established).

For SR4 you had it indirectly by (page 203, under Range, emphasis mine)
All spells have a range at which they can be cast. For most spells, the range is line of sight(LOS). If the caster can see the target, regardless of distance, it can be affected.

The corresponding paragraph in SR5 about Range on page 282 also only writes about range (like LOS) being important for casting, not any mention of sustaining.

Remember, that if a mage puts a spell on somebody and this somebody runs around elsewhere, the spell can relatively easily be tracked back to the mage (and the mage has to live with the sustaining penalties).
Who knows who will come visiting, if your mage hands out spells left and right.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th September 2025 - 09:26 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.