> [5e] Rigging overview?, Making sense of rigging rules
FearTheReaper
post Jul 30 2014, 03:32 PM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 190,241

Hey all,

I'm new to Shadowrun and working on building some characters so I can play in Reddit's upcoming community games. I like building characters to get started in a system. One of the ideas I had was a rigger, but the rulebook's rigging rules are hard to follow, and I've seen a fair bit of discussion on r/shadowrun about how some options aren't optimized as well as others. So I have a few questions for you more experienced players/GMs:

1) What programs are best to run on a drone?

2) What is my "must have" equipment (e.g. control rig, RCC, drones, etc.)

3) Which stats are most important?

Thanks—looking forward to learning the system.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Sengir
post Jul 30 2014, 04:29 PM
Post #2

Great Dragon

Group: Dumpshocked
Member No.: 17,709

Depends on what you want: Herd a swarm of drones or jump into one?

+Quote Post
FearTheReaper
post Jul 30 2014, 05:07 PM
Post #3

Target

Would like to be able to jump into one. Basically I'm looking at making a smuggler character—Resources A. Buy a Cessna, a Gopher, and a couple of Rotodrones, with some little spy drones in addition.

+Quote Post
DrZaius
post Jul 30 2014, 05:35 PM
Post #4

Shooting Target

Member No.: 12,360

RCC is very handy, but not necessarily a "must have" if you have a tight budget.
Control Rig is a must have. You are a bad rigger without one.

Programs are a little trickier; you can share autosofts over an RCC, but if your drone is running any autosofts on it's own, it won't work. On my rigger I had a mix of drones, so I just bought individual programs.

I had a tight budget, so here are the programs I purchased:

For my RCC:
Encryption
Signal Scrub
Toolbox
Viritual Machine
Armor
Wrapper
Biofeedback Filter

For my Doberman:
Electronic Warfare
Maneuvering
Ak-97 Targeting
Clearsight

Fly Spy:
Clearsight
Maneuvering
Stealth