IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Combat or Astral Combat?, Which Pool to Use
Panzergeist
post May 22 2004, 03:17 AM
Post #1


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,362
Joined: 3-October 03
From: Poway, San Diego County, CA, USA
Member No.: 5,676



If an astrally perceiving character is engaged in melee with an astrally projecting character, does he use combat pool, astral combat pool, or neither? Also, in the description of the possesing metamagic, it says that to posses someone, you must defeat them in astral combat. Does this mean that the possesor has to fill up their stun bar, or merely win a single round of close combat and inflict any amount of damage?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
A Clockwork Lime
post May 22 2004, 03:23 AM
Post #2


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,616
Joined: 15-March 04
Member No.: 6,158



Combat Pool. Astral Combat Pool is reserved for projecting/fully astral characters, hence it using Intelligence twice instead of Quickness and Intelligence. Dual-beings (of which an astrally-perceiving temporarily is) are stuck using their physical abilities in such situations.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zazen
post May 22 2004, 03:28 AM
Post #3


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,685
Joined: 17-August 02
Member No.: 3,123



QUOTE (Panzergeist)
If an astrally perceiving character is engaged in melee with an astrally projecting character, does he use combat pool, astral combat pool, or neither?

Combat pool. The astral pool is only for when you leave your body. It exists only so your physical body doesn't determine your combat pool when you've got no body.

QUOTE
Also, in the description of the possesing metamagic, it says that to posses someone, you must defeat them in astral combat.  Does this mean that the possesor has to fill up their stun bar, or merely win a single round of close combat and inflict any amount of damage?


As far as I know you just have to win one round. You need not necessarily even do damage (i.e. if they get hit but soak it all).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Panzergeist
post May 22 2004, 05:07 AM
Post #4


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,362
Joined: 3-October 03
From: Poway, San Diego County, CA, USA
Member No.: 5,676



Actually, astral combat pool doesn't use intelligence twice. It's Intelligence + Charisma + Willpower, divided by two, so it's not calculated in the same manner as combat pool. Anyway, this is good news. The target of a possesion will likely have a lower combat pool than astral combat pool. Can characters substitute sorcery for a combat skill while merely perceiving?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
A Clockwork Lime
post May 22 2004, 05:09 AM
Post #5


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,616
Joined: 15-March 04
Member No.: 6,158



Well, whatever. It's still only available to astral beings.

EDIT: And yes, Sorcery (Astral Combat) is very much available to dual-beings. There's a difference between astral combat and the Astral Combat Pool.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kanada Ten
post May 22 2004, 05:11 AM
Post #6


Beetle Eater
********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 4,797
Joined: 3-June 02
From: Oblivion City
Member No.: 2,826



QUOTE
Not to mention he can't substitute sorcery for a combat skill when astrally perceiving. Should make this easier on me.

I'm pretty sure one can use Sorcery as a combat skill while perceiving as it is specifically mentioned that adepts with astral perception can learn Sorcery for that express purpose.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joker9125
post May 22 2004, 05:25 AM
Post #7


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 606
Joined: 17-December 03
Member No.: 5,909



Heres a question. What if your trying to posess a cyberzombie? They are dual natured and can be posessed but how do they defend against astral combat? If im not mistaken they cannot preceve so they can not see to counter attack their attacker.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
A Clockwork Lime
post May 22 2004, 05:29 AM
Post #8


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,616
Joined: 15-March 04
Member No.: 6,158



Dual-natured automatically means they exist on both planes, and can perceive it just fine. I believe they even talk about how cyberzombies have difficulty understanding what they're seeing at first because of that.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RedmondLarry
post May 22 2004, 05:52 AM
Post #9


Senior GM
***

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 1,406
Joined: 12-April 03
From: Redmond, WA
Member No.: 4,442



QUOTE (Panzergeist)
to posses someone, you must defeat them in astral combat

I think that defeat here means to stun them to the point of being unconscious. The book doesn't actually say "defeat" in the description of Possessing, just that the character attempting the Possession has to "win" the astral combat. I think it's the same amount of damage a Samurai would have to do in order to loot a body.

Even if the target loses the first round of the melee, I don't think the Possession should happen until the target reaches the point of being unconscious. This gives the target's comrades a chance to come to his aid, or for the target to turn off his astral perception (if he can).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zazen
post May 22 2004, 06:01 AM
Post #10


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,685
Joined: 17-August 02
Member No.: 3,123



That's how I do it in my game; I think it makes for better balance.

I don't think that's what the rules say, though. They specifically mention that unconscious dual-beings can be possessed without resistance. Since that's the case, why focus on astral combat? There are dozens of other ways to knock someone out.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Omega Skip
post May 22 2004, 08:17 AM
Post #11


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 152
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 2,074



Like waiting until they fall asleep. Whoa, that would suck - Do cyberzombies ever sleep?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Panzergeist
post May 22 2004, 10:56 PM
Post #12


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,362
Joined: 3-October 03
From: Poway, San Diego County, CA, USA
Member No.: 5,676



Maybe, depending on what ware they have, but they sure go into comas a lot.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th October 2020 - 03:59 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.