IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Magic, or how do I do it
JTNLANGE
post Jun 15 2004, 02:13 PM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 97
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Caledonia,WI,UCAS
Member No.: 885



Ok I asked this on the old board and never got a good answer. In the rules it states that you allocate dice to spell defense, which can be spell pool or sorcery dice. so that means that if I allocate 2 spell pool dice and 2 or say 6 sorcery dice that then leaves me with 4 dice for casting spells correct? Then when do those dice become available for casting again. I would assume that when the dice pool refresh and you reallocate those dice. That is how I have been playing it for years but wasn't sure that was right. Anyone who could shed light please, bring me into the light :D


Trevor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Luke Hardison
post Jun 15 2004, 02:14 PM
Post #2


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 334
Joined: 17-November 03
From: Texas
Member No.: 5,828



Changing your allocation is a Free Action, so you can add or take away spell defense dice pretty frequently.

The pools refresh normally, at the beginning of a combat turn.

EDIT: I don't think you can add more spell pool dice to a sorcery test than you allocate sorcery dice. That's how it works in all other skills I can think of, anyway, and that's how I remember sorcery working. So if you have a skill of 6 and you allocate 6 sorcery dice to spell defense, you can't cast anything.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mr.Platinum
post Jun 15 2004, 03:26 PM
Post #3


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 751
Joined: 7-June 02
From: Hamilton.LTG.on.ca
Member No.: 2,853



is this for second or third edition rules?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JTNLANGE
post Jun 15 2004, 06:16 PM
Post #4


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 97
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Caledonia,WI,UCAS
Member No.: 885



3rd edition
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BenLarkin
post Jun 15 2004, 09:05 PM
Post #5


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 16-March 04
Member No.: 6,163



What about skill specializations?

Say I have a sorcerer with a 5 Sorcery skill and a 7 Spell Defense as a specialization of Sorcery. Does that mean I can allocate all 7 dice of my Spell Defense Specialization for Spell Defense and still have all 5 from my Sorcery available for spell casting?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Jun 15 2004, 09:43 PM
Post #6


Traumatizing players since 1992
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,282
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 220



No, it means you have 2 permanent dice allocated for defense more or less, and the other 5 to allocate how you see fit. It's not 2 separate skills, it's just a specialization of the base skill.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 04:26 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.