IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Quickened Increased Reflexes, Just wondering...
FXcalibur
post Jul 3 2004, 04:53 PM
Post #1

Moving Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 6,206

I'm a newbie to magic, so I'm wondering about quickening Increased Reflexes on yourself. If this is possible, i have a few questions.

Is someone with IR+3 as 'jumpy' as somebody with Wired 3? Do they move with the grace of someone with MBW 4? Also, I think I want to quicken this spell on my character . What's a good Force to set this quickened spell to (just in case i run into a mage who wants to dispell it), or is it a bad idea to spend karma for quickening?
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
mfb
post Jul 3 2004, 05:00 PM
Post #2

Immortal Elf

Member No.: 5,670

no, IR+3 doesn't make you jumpy--only technological increases do that. and, no--no one moves with the grace of an MBW4 guy except someone else with MBW4. you might try tattooing it at force 4 or so, and spending 2 extra karma on it--that gives you an effective force of 12 for dispelling purposes.

+Quote Post
Jason Farlander
post Jul 3 2004, 05:03 PM
Post #3

Running Target

Member No.: 4,323

It is definitely possible to quicken IR +3. A mage with quickened IR +3 would be neither as "jumpy" as wired 3 (jumpiness only applies to cybernetic reflex enhancements) nor as smooth as a person with MBW 4 (which is a specific effect of that cybersystem).

It is OK to spend karma for quickening, ESPECIALLY if your GM allows the karma-for-cash rules in SRComp. The problem is that, over time, it *will* get dispelled - either by walking though a ward or multiple dispelling attempts, which cumulatively reduce your successes. I would say to either do it at as high a force as you can afford - which is my blanket advice for quickening, or to quicken it at force 1, in that losing 1 karma to dispelling/a ward isnt that bad.

+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Jul 3 2004, 06:03 PM
Post #4