IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

SunRunner
post Aug 24 2004, 03:49 AM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 7-August 04
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 6,549



I have a question for you all, maybe you can point out what I am missing.

Going through the Spell Design section in Magic In The Shadows, I was attempting to create a spell that affects both reaction (+2) and initiative (+1D6). The only drain modifier I could find that fits was Affects Initiative (+1 Drain Level).

The text of the modifier is as follows:
CODE
Affects Initiative (+1 Drain Level)
This modifier is used when Initiative is affected by a spell, either by affecting Reaction or Initiative dice.  This modifier is cumulative with each increase.


The problem I am having is comparing a few spells. Increase Reaction has a Drain of +1S which enhances Reaction by one-half your spellcasting successes (max bonus of the spell's Force), while Increase Reflexes is a staged spell (Level 1, Level 2, Level 3) ... I can see how Increase Reflexes works, as you add a Drain Level per each dice added, yet Increase Reaction works differently.

How many times should I apply the Affects Initiative drain modifier? I know I would do so at least once for the extra initiative dice, but how many times for the enhanced reaction attribute? Especially considering I want it to be a fixed result...

Opinions? Help? Quotes? :D
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 10)
Herald of Verjig...
post Aug 24 2004, 03:53 AM
Post #2


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,066
Joined: 5-February 03
Member No.: 4,017



Once to get the reaction bonus as per Increase Reaction, plus once more for each die it adds to initiative. All attribute increase spells are success dependant, so you can't make a reliable "Wired 1 equivalent," but you can make a spell that will match wired 1 if you get four successes and is legal (less than force 3).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SunRunner
post Aug 24 2004, 04:01 AM
Post #3


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 7-August 04
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 6,549



QUOTE (Herald of Verjigorm)
Once to get the reaction bonus as per Increase Reaction, plus once more for each die it adds to initiative. All attribute increase spells are success dependant, so you can't make a reliable "Wired 1 equivalent," but you can make a spell that will match wired 1 if you get four successes and is legal (less than force 3).

Thank you for the clarification. The problem with rolling for the attribute increase (reaction), is that it makes the spell potentially more effective than is desired. Any suggestion for a cannon way to work around that? Or do I have to house-rule it?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Voltage
post Aug 24 2004, 04:03 AM
Post #4


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 26-January 03
Member No.: 3,955



I'm fairly certain you can withhold dice to tone a spell down. I was recently re-reading MitS, and it mentioned something like that in there.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Herald of Verjig...
post Aug 24 2004, 04:05 AM
Post #5


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,066
Joined: 5-February 03
Member No.: 4,017



Effective reaction increase is limited by the force of the spell. Force 2 cannot increase reaction more than 2 points. Force 4 cannot increase reaction more than 4 points.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrostyNSO
post Aug 24 2004, 04:10 AM
Post #6


Resident Legionnaire
*****

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,136
Joined: 8-August 04
From: Usually Work
Member No.: 6,550



So what purpose does force serve in the case of initiative enhancing spells? What would stop somebody from getting a force 1 'increase initiative +3'?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Herald of Verjig...
post Aug 24 2004, 04:13 AM
Post #7


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,066
Joined: 5-February 03
Member No.: 4,017



Only the frailty of the spell. Force 1 can be accidentally dispelled by a passing spirit (ok, maybe not, but any ward) and still causes 4D drain to recast. Not something you want to do often during a run.

Such spells at low force are only viable to initiates with masking who don't run into many opponents with masking.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Edward
post Aug 24 2004, 06:46 AM
Post #8


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,073
Joined: 23-August 04
Member No.: 6,587



I find low force spells to be very workable with or without masking.

Yes they get dispelled occasionally but not all that often. Because you don’t need a loot of successes on the casting test you hold a couple of sorcery dice back for drain dump your full spell pool on drain and if you can use centring to alleviate drain. Say 4 dice to cast and 6 (will) + 2 (sorcery) + 6 (spell pool) 14 dice at target 4. you may need to use a point of karma pool if your unlucky but your probably only going to take light drain anyway. You just need to find 3 seconds of quiet to do it.

Edward
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mfb
post Aug 24 2004, 04:07 PM
Post #9


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 11,410
Joined: 1-October 03
From: Pittsburgh
Member No.: 5,670



here's a scary thought: manipulation spells can affect initiative. you could, by the rules, create a telekinetic manipulation that increased your reaction and/or initiative without regard to your current reaction/init--the TN for casting would be 6, even if you had wired-3 + reaction enh-6. mmm, +20/+10d6...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Herald of Verjig...
post Aug 24 2004, 04:18 PM
Post #10


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,066
Joined: 5-February 03
Member No.: 4,017



Maybe, but unless I am missing a line, the TN is still current reaction. That'll make it much more difficult to get successes on the MBW 4 character than on an unaugmented or synaptic accelerator.

However, boosted 3 doesn't add much to reaction, and synaptic accelerator only adds dice...
5 + 8D6 here we come!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mfb
post Aug 24 2004, 09:12 PM
Post #11


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 11,410
Joined: 1-October 03
From: Pittsburgh
Member No.: 5,670



the only applicable line i see is 'fine control: TN 6' (paraphrased) under the telekinetic manipulation section.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th July 2025 - 10:06 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.