> New Look at North American Shamanism
Demonseed Elite
post Aug 31 2004, 01:33 PM
Post #1

Neophyte Runner

Group: Members
Member No.: 67

Hey there everyone.

Been working on some house rule stuff the past few days, and figured I'd share what I have so far here, in case anyone is interested in adapting it to their own games. Basically, it's my own personal look at North American native shamanism in SR, based on my own readings and experiences. I always thought the SR descriptions for totems were very anemic, emphasized quantity over quality, and sometimes were downright ridiculous. So I worked on my own.

At the same time, even though I am a freelancer, these rules and descriptions are purely my own, and are not official in any way, shape or form. Maybe I'll try to get something like this worked into a book someday, but for now it's just my random scribblings.

Anyway, it's not done yet, I'm adding totems steadily and only have one done at the time of this posting, but here's the page:

New Look at North American Shamanism in the Sixth World
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Chance359
post Aug 31 2004, 03:11 PM
Post #2

Moving Target

Member No.: 313

I like, a very worth while project.

+Quote Post
Method
post Aug 31 2004, 05:16 PM
Post #3

Street Doc

Group: Admin
Member No.: 6,114

I like what you've done so far. It gives the totem and the shaman so much more character.

+Quote Post
Cynic project
post Aug 31 2004, 05:55 PM
Post #4

Running Target

Member No.: 6,543

The probelms I have with what you is this, what about the other "shamans"? Does belief really make up what type of magic you shall use?If so,then why would say devoted Jews fallow the great "Dog" totem? I always wondered why so few tribel people were hermetic. And yet so many urben people were shamans...

+Quote Post
Demonseed Elite
post Aug 31 2004, 06:26 PM
Post #5

Neophyte Runner

I'm a bit confused by what you're asking.