> target #s?
heinous
post Sep 6 2004, 02:03 AM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 6,631

Hello, newbie here so please forgive...

I'm creating a new character (tribal shaman - full magician). The improved invisiblilty spell has a target of 4... what exactly does this mean? The book says "other spells have a specific target number listed". I dont really understand what this means.. i apologize if there's threads already addressing this... I'm new to Shadowrun, as are the other friends I'm playing with, six of us bought the primary sourcebook, but unfortunately we don't have the RPG'n experience to fully decipher all the rules.. or we're stupid... either way, please help!

Thank you,
Rob
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
the_dunner
post Sep 6 2004, 02:19 AM
Post #2

Shooting Target

Group: Retired Admins
Member No.: 6,522

Hopefully nobody'll shoot huge honkin' holes in my explanation. (I'm in the process of getting back into practice here, so I'm posting this mostly to make sure that I understand the mechanics properly too. :D )

When casting any spell, you roll your Sorcery dice (plus any Spell Pool you allocate) against the target number of the spell. The number of dice that equal or beat the difficulty is the number of successes for the spell.

For most spells, a spell is an opposed test. You'd roll a number of successes, and your opponent would attempt to resist it. For example, a Mana Bolt, your target number would be the target's Willpower (W in the spell description). The target would then make a resistance test using his willpower against the spell's force.