IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Espiritu
post Sep 14 2004, 12:07 PM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 27-August 04
Member No.: 6,604



Is there any rules governing casting spells above your Magic Rating and your Spells Force level individually?
In clarification, can a person conceivably cast above their Magic rating?
And can a person cast a Spell above the Force they know?

If so what penalties are applied to such actions?
If they are expressely forbidden can someone site the pages?
And if there are no rules on this are there any suggestions on how one could determine the effects this action could have on the caster?

I'm asking because I'm about to Bond a Force 3 Power Foci and my Magic Rating will be concievably: current 6 Magic + 3 Power Focus = 9 Magic Rating.

Also can a Power Focus make up for lost Magic rating in determining at what Force you can cast, since each Force of the Focus accounts for 1 Magic Rating?

If you had magic loss from 6 to 5, and bonded a Force 1 Power Foci would your new allowed Force level be 6 again?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 11)
Backgammon
post Sep 14 2004, 12:15 PM
Post #2


Ain Soph Aur
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,477
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Montreal, Canada
Member No.: 600



QUOTE

In clarification, can a person conceivably cast above their Magic rating?

Yes, but all Drain is Physical, not Stun. No other restrictions.
QUOTE

And can a person cast a Spell above the Force they know?

Absolutely not.

QUOTE

If they are expressely forbidden can someone site the pages?

No. No book here. It's in the magic section, obviously.

QUOTE

Also can a Power Focus make up for lost Magic rating in determining at what Force you can cast, since each Force of the Focus accounts for 1 Magic Rating?

Uhh.. I'm not sure what you're asking, so here's the standard line: Power focus increase your magic rating when determining what force spell cause Physical drain or not (see above).

QUOTE

If you had magic loss from 6 to 5, and bonded a Force 1 Power Foci would your new allowed Force level be 6 again?

Yes. Don't lose your focus, though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Espiritu
post Sep 14 2004, 12:26 PM
Post #3


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 27-August 04
Member No.: 6,604



Ok, so you can learn spells up to your Sorcery and if your Sorcery is say for example 8, you could learn a Force 8 spell and cast as you please? (Taking into account Magic rating of course.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Austere Emancipa...
post Sep 14 2004, 12:30 PM
Post #4


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,889
Joined: 3-August 03
From: A CPI rank 1 country
Member No.: 5,222



QUOTE (Espiritu)
you can learn spells up to your Sorcery

I've never heard of characters being limited to their Sorcery in spell Force. Couldn't find anything about that on a quick glance through Spell Learning in SR3.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bigity
post Sep 14 2004, 12:45 PM
Post #5


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,840
Joined: 24-July 02
From: Lubbock, TX
Member No.: 3,024



You can learn any force spell you can manage to roll high enough for. However, no matter what your Sorcery skill is, if the force of the spell you are casting is higher then your Magic skill (after the appropriate foci have been added), the drain is always physical.

You can always cast a spell at a force equal to or lower then the rating. For example, if you have Fireball at 8, you could cast it at 1-8 force.

However, you cannot design a spell with a force higher then your Spell Design skill rating.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Synner
post Sep 14 2004, 04:51 PM
Post #6


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,314
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Lisbon, Cidade do Pecado
Member No.: 185



And under standard rules you can't start with a Spell with a force rating over 6.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GrinderTheTroll
post Sep 14 2004, 05:41 PM
Post #7


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,754
Joined: 9-July 04
From: Modesto, CA
Member No.: 6,465



QUOTE (Espiritu)
In clarification, can a person conceivably cast above their Magic rating?
Yes.

QUOTE
And can a person cast a Spell above the Force they know?
No. You can only cast the spell Force or lower (minimum 1).

QUOTE
If so what penalties are applied to such actions?
Casting a spell with a Force > Magic = Physical Drain.

QUOTE
I'm asking because I'm about to Bond a Force 3 Power Foci and my Magic Rating will be concievably: current 6 Magic + 3 Power Focus = 9 Magic Rating.
The Focus will effective give you a Magic Attribute of 9 for the pupose of casting. That means you could cast up to a Force 9 spell and still suffer only Mental Drain.

QUOTE
Also can a Power Focus make up for lost Magic rating in determining at what Force you can cast, since each Force of the Focus accounts for 1 Magic Rating?
Focus only "temporarily replace" lost magic points by supplimenting you with its Rating. You aren't really replacing or gaining anything permenantly.

QUOTE
If you had magic loss from 6 to 5, and bonded a Force 1 Power Foci would your new allowed Force level be 6 again?
If you mean, "would I take mental drain instead?" then yes. As mentioned before, you can cast at the Force of the spell you know or lower.

Example:
-----------
You know 5 spells all at Force 6. You get banged up, and lose a point of Magic now you are Magic 5. You can still cast any of those spells up to their Force (6 in this case). The problem is, if you choose to cast them at Force 6, any drain would be physical instead of mental. If you instead, cast them at Force 5 (or lower) you would only incur mental drain.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Sep 14 2004, 05:46 PM
Post #8


Traumatizing players since 1992
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,282
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 220



And as a note that everyone should remember: If you take physical drain that drain CANNOT BE HEALED MAGICALLY. Thank you. That comes upo so often I'd like to pre-emptively head it off at the pass. :D
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Espiritu
post Sep 14 2004, 05:52 PM
Post #9


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 27-August 04
Member No.: 6,604



lol, I am aware of that...just my GM apparently doesn't know much of the magic rules or something but everything else he's hot shiznit on... It's embarassing when I am asking questions here to clarify but really already knew. And the factor that made me ignorant was my GM telling me otherwise on some rules...not healing magical damage from drain was already known. But good thinking to cover it while we were at general rules of magic.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kagetenshi
post Sep 14 2004, 05:56 PM
Post #10


Manus Celer Dei
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 17,010
Joined: 30-December 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 3,802



But, unless I'm very mistaken, it isn't excluded from Regeneration yet.

~J
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Sep 14 2004, 06:27 PM
Post #11


Traumatizing players since 1992
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,282
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 220



Actually, and surprisingly, I believe it is. Drain regenerates at a box per minute instead of just "gone at the end of the round". So Regen helps, but not as much as everything else.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RedmondLarry
post Sep 14 2004, 07:13 PM
Post #12


Senior GM
***

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 1,406
Joined: 12-April 03
From: Redmond, WA
Member No.: 4,442



Official wording for Shapeshifter regeneration of physical drain from spellcasting is at that slow rate. Since nothing is said about regenerating physical drain from Conjuring it is presumably, officially, at the fast rate. But our team thinks that is just an oversight/error in the rules.
QUOTE (SR3.36)
...shapeshifter magicians regenerate the Physical damage caused by spellcasting Drain at a rate of 1 Damage box per minute.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th June 2025 - 11:41 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.