IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> starting utilities for n00bie-deckers, what do you recommend?
GlassJaw
post Sep 27 2004, 01:12 PM
Post #1

Moving Target

Group: Dumpshocked
Member No.: 6,664

I'm working on a combat decker/B&E character for an upcoming campaign. I've only dabbled in SR in the past and I'm new to the SR3 Matrix rules but I want to give them a shot in-game.

My character is going to be somewhat of a newbie decker in-game as well. I'm only starting with the Novatech-6 deck but I have a good amount of cash for utilities. I also have the Matrix book but I haven't delved into it too much yet. My GM recommended keeping it simple at the beginning.

So I'm looking for advice on what my starting utilities should be. I probably have around 200k-300k left that I can spend on utilities. What are the absolute necessities? What can you live without? What utils need to be maxed out and which ones don't?
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Bigity
post Sep 27 2004, 01:39 PM
Post #2

Shooting Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 3,024

Actually, I recommend getting almost all of them, at least at rating 3. Depending on what rules from Matrix you use, you can leave out the special comm programs (laser link, sat link, etc).

Some of the utilities like Validate aren't always needed, but they can save alot of work and security tally.

First, get the highest rating Sleaze you feel you can pay for.

Other musts: (IMHO)
Attack (at least Serious or Deadly)
Deception
Analyze
Relocate (especially if you are not using the satlink rules)
Browse (since you need 5 successes total to locate files from searches)

There are others, but I am working from memory here.

Also, if you are using the Matrix rules, you may want to build yourself a custom deck, or at least upgrade the Novatech-6.

+Quote Post
Kagetenshi
post Sep 27 2004, 01:39 PM
Post #3

Manus Celer Dei

Member No.: 3,802