Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problems with magic, Problems with magic
SoulKage
post Oct 3 2004, 08:36 AM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 6,720

Hi all! I've always loved the Shadowrun universe but I've hit several problems with magic. I'm new to GMing (heck, playing the game) and this is what happened. After getting the melee and ranged rules down I studied magic and explained the rules to my friends. One friend found that if he took certain combinations of sustaining foci and spells, he could become improved invis, +6/6 armor, +4d6 initiative, +X to any stat he wanted, and flying forever...

Needless to say this just broke the game instantly and I fought for 3 hours tying to un-break it and I gave up. I'm hoping I'm missing some rules or something because magic just seems WAY too powerful, like as in you would need about 10 kilos of High explosive compound XI to ensure his death.. Anything short of that just tickles him.

I also have many more questions about Shadowrun and am hoping I can get some links to sites for further clarification on the rules. Thanks all!!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
RedmondLarry
post Oct 3 2004, 08:41 AM
Post #2

Senior GM

Group: Dumpshocked
Member No.: 4,442

To start with, use Focus Addiction (Magic in the Shadows page 45). This rule is exactly designed for the problem you are observing. With this rule, a magician risks magic loss if he uses too many foci at once. A power focus does NOT increase the Magic Attribute, so it doesn't help you get around the Focus Addiction rule.

Double-check the force and number of successes for his spells that raise attributes.

Lone Star does have magicians on occasional patrol, or on their way to a crime scene, who WILL notice if a magician has powerful magic. It takes but a moment to stop and ask to see the permit for that powerful magic. (All spells with Force higher than 2 require a permit.)