IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Controlling Drones without VCR, Is this possible .. SR-Vise
PiXeL01
post Nov 13 2004, 06:28 PM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 175
Joined: 15-July 04
From: Imperial Japan
Member No.: 6,483



On the last adventure I had some none-riggers who bought some drones. Now my main problem was I couldnt remember if there was any rules for piloting drones without a VCR. Are there?

So basicly I gave them a laptop with a joystick and said they had to program it with computers with they wanted it to do something other then just hang there doing nothing when they wouldnt be controlling it.
Could someone please specify what happens after you have given a drone an order and then it leaves the network. Does it a) drop dead or b) carry out the last command? Giving me pages to read in Rigger3 or BBB works fine for me :)

Another thing happened. Their rigger's RCdeck got fried and they had a drone hanging in midair which the group wanted down again. Now if you have the frequences is it then easy to "hijack" it or do you still need all that extra electronic warfare gear to bring the drone down to earth?

Thank you in advance
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kagetenshi
post Nov 13 2004, 06:30 PM
Post #2


Manus Celer Dei
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 16,888
Joined: 30-December 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 3,802



There are ways. Look up Captain's Chair Mode. Short answer is that the drone rolls its Pilot Rating for most tasks instead of the user using the relevant skill. Captain's Chair is available to Riggers as well, of course.

An uncontrolled drone will continue following its last orders or find a safe place to deactivate, IIRC.

~J
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ancient History
post Nov 13 2004, 06:31 PM
Post #3


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 6,748
Joined: 5-July 02
Member No.: 2,935



QUOTE
On the last adventure I had some none-riggers who bought some drones. Now my main problem was I couldnt remember if there was any rules for piloting drones without a VCR. Are there?


Yeah. Deckers can do it with a Rig Emulator and Remote Control Emulation Utility.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DrJest
post Nov 13 2004, 08:21 PM
Post #4


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,133
Joined: 3-October 04
Member No.: 6,722



IIRC you can control a vehicle remotely with the Remote Control Deck (I had a merc mage who owned a helicopter with that option), but I wouldn't want to risk doing anything significant with it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Edward
post Nov 13 2004, 08:52 PM
Post #5


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,073
Joined: 23-August 04
Member No.: 6,587



As to the fried deck and getting your drone back down I would say you would need to do much of the electronic warfare.

There are lots of frequencies and in order to be secure the access codes would need to be farley long so remembering them would be a bitch. However as the controlling deck is not active I would say you are rolling to take over a network that has a rating 0 deck with flux 0 and automatically gets 0 successes on all the opposed rolls. So unless I am mistaken you need to make 3 electronic warfare tests against target 0 (2) to get into the system and then a couple more to take control of the drones.

Unless there was some reason for hast (more successes reduces time) or you have negligible skill (2 or less or your defaulting) I would not bother to have you roll.

If you keep a second deck loaded with your codes for just such an eventuality then it would be automatic. But remember, what if an enemy gets access to that deck.

Edward
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kagetenshi
post Nov 13 2004, 09:28 PM
Post #6


Manus Celer Dei
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 16,888
Joined: 30-December 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 3,802



Then you're already dead, unless you're being careless.

~J
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Nov 13 2004, 11:46 PM
Post #7


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



QUOTE
On the last adventure I had some none-riggers who bought some drones. Now my main problem was I couldnt remember if there was any rules for piloting drones without a VCR. Are there?

So long as the character has a datajack, Captain's chair mode is availiable. The joystick-and-laptop rig was removed in 3rd ed.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Thistledown
post Nov 14 2004, 07:39 PM
Post #8


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 236
Joined: 14-March 04
From: Cal Poly: SLO
Member No.: 6,155



A major benifit from not rigging when using drones is dumpshock. Because you're not plugged into them, if one dies, you go "drek, that's another 5000 :nuyen: from the chip.' When you're plugged into a drone and it dies, you go 'sizzle sizzle, oh, my head.'

This leads to a wonderful use to non-rigged drones. Demolitions. Strap some C4 to a drone, and drive it off under somebody's car, then boom. Or strap some neurostun X to it, and deploy as you drive it through the air shafts of a building.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PiXeL01
post Nov 15 2004, 11:04 AM
Post #9


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 175
Joined: 15-July 04
From: Imperial Japan
Member No.: 6,483



So basicly it comes down to you CANT control drones without owning a remote control deck and you do not receive a rating 1 which is hardcoded to the drone's frequencies, when you purchase the drone?

Well thank you all for your feedback :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Thistledown
post Nov 15 2004, 02:19 PM
Post #10


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 236
Joined: 14-March 04
From: Cal Poly: SLO
Member No.: 6,155



Course, an RC car that you buy at radio shack has a rating 0.5 remote control deck that comes with it, which is tied to a preset frequency.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Edward
post Nov 15 2004, 06:17 PM
Post #11


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,073
Joined: 23-August 04
Member No.: 6,587



But the top of the line remote control plane you by at a dedicated hobby store often dose not come with a remote control at all. At least today.

Edward
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GrinderTheTroll
post Nov 15 2004, 06:52 PM
Post #12


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,754
Joined: 9-July 04
From: Modesto, CA
Member No.: 6,465



I am considering a Samurai with a Combat Computer, CRD and a few remote camera/sensor drones to help make it more efficient. Wouldn't need to do too much more than just deploy and position.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DigitalMage
post Nov 16 2004, 10:17 AM
Post #13


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 214
Joined: 26-February 02
From: UK
Member No.: 340



QUOTE (Cain)
The joystick-and-laptop rig was removed in 3rd ed.

By default it was removed, but I think Rigger 3 Revised allows you to add manual controls on afterward.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cable
post Nov 16 2004, 01:59 PM
Post #14


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 16-September 04
Member No.: 6,670



I figure as long as the drone has a microphone system you can. I does involve you yelling at it a lot and it uses its autopilot to do all tasks, so it sucks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ol' Scratch
post Nov 16 2004, 03:43 PM
Post #15


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Validating
Posts: 7,999
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,890



By default all drones (and anything else with Sensors 1 or higher) has a "microphone system."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DarkShade
post Nov 16 2004, 03:55 PM
Post #16


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 138
Joined: 24-September 04
Member No.: 6,700



umm.. 2 sessions ago the rigger had to leave some drones fighting alone while he was doing something else..

we came to one conclusion..

drones, when fighting people, suck horribly. they cant hit the broad side of a barn, and any hits they may get will likely be dodged away.

they are good at suppressive fire and at tying up defenders as it is easy to give them enough armor to make them invulnerable to small arms fire.
this makes their use a bit limited if not under rigger control..
<that said, they are great at bringing tool x to team mate y in location z... >
Ds
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Nov 16 2004, 04:36 PM
Post #17


Traumatizing players since 1992
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,282
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 220



So, Darkshade, were you correctly using the rules and giving the drones a TN of 2 or 3 pretty much always? because if the drone has direct LOS to the target it's either a -3 or -4 TN (I can't recall which) that really isn't modified by squat. A good drone can be a horrible efficient thing at killing. Especially being able to throw a LOT of lead without recoil penalties.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kagetenshi
post Nov 16 2004, 04:41 PM
Post #18


Manus Celer Dei
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 16,888
Joined: 30-December 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 3,802



-3.

~J
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DarkShade
post Nov 16 2004, 04:57 PM
Post #19


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 138
Joined: 24-September 04
Member No.: 6,700



base tn: 4, add urban environment, +2, Direct LOS mod the book specifically states they dont get , and is reserved for things like flying targets firing at vehicles with no cover nearby and such.

so tn for a drone shooting at you at nearly any situation is 6.

however even before it starts shooting at you it has to get a lock on you with a sensor test, which costs an action!! <sensor enhanced gunnery rules>

they have no pools, just their basic skill, which is, crap. <iirc = autopilot rating> & they end up with a single success if very lucky.. dodge away.

not sure why you cant mount one of the automated turrets mentioned in SR3 on a drone.. those are FAR better.. then again, perhaps too good for this :)

now unbless I have seriously misunderstood something, drones are just not that great when uncontrolled.... & sensor enhanced gunnery isnt that great against people.

DS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Clyde
post Nov 16 2004, 05:03 PM
Post #20


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 458
Joined: 12-April 04
From: Lacey, Washington
Member No.: 6,237



It was my
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Clyde
post Nov 16 2004, 05:04 PM
Post #21


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 458
Joined: 12-April 04
From: Lacey, Washington
Member No.: 6,237



/my
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Edward
post Nov 16 2004, 07:10 PM
Post #22


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,073
Joined: 23-August 04
Member No.: 6,587



You can improve there skill a lot with a clear sight and gunnery auto soft. Especially good seeing you only need to pay for the software once (although each drone needs its own auto soft interpretation module).

Edward
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Nov 16 2004, 10:18 PM
Post #23


Traumatizing players since 1992
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,282
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 220



Why do you think you have to pay for the software once? you need one copy for each drone you plan to put it in.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ol' Scratch
post Nov 16 2004, 10:26 PM
Post #24


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Validating
Posts: 7,999
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,890



No, you can upload a copy of an Autosoft to each drone individually. It's just like downloading a Skillsoft to headware memory.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iPad
post Nov 16 2004, 11:11 PM
Post #25


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 172
Joined: 16-September 04
From: UK
Member No.: 6,671



It depend if its been coded to disrupt any copies (SR rule book). THe 'one copy' programs are cheaper if I remember right.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th October 2020 - 03:28 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.