IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Customized Active Softs, How much do they cost?
Dr. Black
post Nov 21 2004, 10:20 PM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 5-October 04
Member No.: 6,729



A little confused on Customized Activesoft costs.

Canon Companion PG. 60-61. "...design size increases by 150 percent"

So a rating 3 activesoft would be design size 3*3*3*2.5= 67.5mp
and would cost 6750NY.

CC PG 64 shows that the cost of Customized option is x2.

Does that mean the customized rating 3 activesoft costs 13500ny ?

Seems kinda pricey if thats the case.

Please enlighten me.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ol' Scratch
post Nov 21 2004, 10:24 PM
Post #2


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Validating
Posts: 7,999
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,890



A rating 3 ActiveSoft with the Customization option would only take up 13 Mp of memory on your Skillwires, but counts as 40 Mp for purposes of calculating how much it costs (which then gets a x2 multiplier on top of that). Thus, it would cost you 8,000 nuyen. And yes, all software in Shadowrun is pricey.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dr. Black
post Nov 21 2004, 10:38 PM
Post #3


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 5-October 04
Member No.: 6,729



Hmm, Doc. that doesnt add up to me.

Seems like you are taking 27mp standard design size and adding 50%.

The book says "...design size increases by 150 percent", not 50%.

Unless Im missing something that is.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ol' Scratch
post Nov 21 2004, 10:40 PM
Post #4


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Validating
Posts: 7,999
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,890



Ah, see, I always just assumed they meant "150% the normal size." I guess you're right with the 67 Mp rating (but remember that everything is rounded down unless stated otherwise). My mistake.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tisoz
post Nov 21 2004, 11:31 PM
Post #5


Free Spirit
*******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,918
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Bloomington, IN UCAS
Member No.: 1,920



Since the availability of customized skillsofts and knowsofts is over 8, Street index is 2.5, so it gets even more expensive.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fix-it
post Nov 21 2004, 11:38 PM
Post #6


Creating a god with his own hands
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,405
Joined: 30-September 02
From: 0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1
Member No.: 3,364



The reason I think they are expensive is because I think you have to find someone with the skill to program activesofts, then have a one-on-one session with them to tweak that 'soft to your person. So not only are you paying for the software, you're paying for the service as well.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dr. Black
post Nov 22 2004, 12:50 AM
Post #7


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 5-October 04
Member No.: 6,729



I understand the street index mark up is quite significant. I was doing this workup for a new character, thus no street index. At 13,400 NY per rating 3 customized activesoft, I think I will just use Skillwires 4/50 and 4800NY Activesofts. Or, Skillwires 3/30 and 2700NY activesofts - depends on available funds.

This character was going to have at least 30 activesofts and thus the price per was very important.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ol' Scratch
post Nov 22 2004, 12:52 AM
Post #8


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Validating
Posts: 7,999
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,890



As mentioned, unless you're stretching beyond the standard Availability limits for a new character, you won't be able to get them Customized at the start. (Ask your GM though.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dr. Black
post Nov 22 2004, 03:16 AM
Post #9


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 5-October 04
Member No.: 6,729



Good call Doc.

I misread the Availability for standard activesofts as 4 instead of 6.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ol' Scratch
post Nov 22 2004, 03:41 AM
Post #10


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Validating
Posts: 7,999
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,890



tisoz is the one who mentioned it first. I usually start characters off with Skillwires 2/6 Mp and Optimized 'softs fed through a Chipjack Expert Driver 3 myself, then eventually snag some Customized 'softs after the start of play. 6 dice is practically as good as 7, and at 6,000-nuyen a pop, they're relatively cheap to boot. Couple that with a set of 'wires that only cost 6,000-nuyen and 0.4 Essence themselves and it's a bargain for any non-serious 'soft users. :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bigity
post Nov 22 2004, 08:22 PM
Post #11


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,839
Joined: 24-July 02
From: Lubbock, TX
Member No.: 3,024



Skillwires and skill softs hurt my brain. Almost as much as the pilot soft things for drones.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th October 2020 - 01:49 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.