IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Unusual Cyberwear Malfunctions, Sammies beware
Sabosect
post Jan 25 2005, 06:57 AM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 807
Joined: 9-October 04
Member No.: 6,741



One thing I have been wondering about is unusual cyberwear malfunctions GMs come up with.

One of my favorite is this past weekend. The group got together and, unusually, I was trying out a decker. Among us was Nirvana (female elf street sam with the vindictive flaw), Nerble (male human mage with a custom flaw that meant every once in awhile he'd grope the nearest woman; name comes from the sound he made when Nirvana broke his jaw last), Timmy (troll street same with a strange flaw of failing dexterity rolls near wells), and Ooga Booga (dwarf rigger, long story behind name).

We were inside a corp building and Nerble had just gotten a little too grabby again, so Nirvana was in the process of beating him unconcious. This, naturally, made enough noise to attract the guards, who had a nasty habbit of carrying tazers, which allowed them to torture the prisoners before parting them out to street docs and body farms. Two guards come in, hit Timmy before he can react, and much to everyone's surprise manage to (combined) throw him into Deadly range. Then Nirvana, without breaking stride, shoots both guards in the forehead with her Pred 3 and goes back to beating Nerble.

After managing to convince her to let Nerble stay concious enough to heal Timmy, and Nerble to crawl over (in spite of the four bruised ribs) and heal Timmy, Timmy gets the joy of not being numbered amoung the dead, and Nerble passes out with four boxes of physical and a full stun bar. Nirvana is naturally unhappy that she doesn't get to finish the beating, but does nothing to my character for it.

Timmy wakes up, sees his gun on the floor, and the following happens.

Timmy: I try to grab my gun.
GM: Cyberwear malfunction. You slap your face instead.
Timmy: Ouch! I try to grab my gun again.
GM: Same thing happens.
Timmy: Drek! I know! I try to slap my face!
GM: You succeed.
Timmy: Frag it!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Jan 25 2005, 07:17 AM
Post #2


Traumatizing players since 1992
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,282
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 220



That is your GM screwing you. There is nothing canon to support that.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RedmondLarry
post Jan 25 2005, 07:23 AM
Post #3


Senior GM
***

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 1,406
Joined: 12-April 03
From: Redmond, WA
Member No.: 4,442



I had some bad Wired Reflexes 3 one time. Every time the 3 dice, contributed by the cyberware toward my initiative, rolled 15 or higher my character would fall to the ground convulsing for a Turn. The following Turn he'd lay still. On the third turn he could roll initiative as usual. This bad cyberware was simply the result of things that had happened in-game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hahnsoo
post Jan 25 2005, 07:24 AM
Post #4


Mr. Johnson
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,587
Joined: 25-January 05
From: Berkeley, CA
Member No.: 7,014



But boy is it fun! Reminds me of that far side cartoon with the brain surgeons.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrostyNSO
post Jan 25 2005, 07:26 AM
Post #5


Resident Legionnaire
*****

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,136
Joined: 8-August 04
From: Usually Work
Member No.: 6,550



It sounds to me like the GM getting back at the players who wasted his time fighting amongst eachother.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RedmondLarry
post Jan 25 2005, 07:27 AM
Post #6


Senior GM
***

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 1,406
Joined: 12-April 03
From: Redmond, WA
Member No.: 4,442



QUOTE (Sabosect)
... Nerble crawl over (in spite of the four bruised ribs) and heal Timmy, Timmy gets the joy of not being numbered amoung the dead, and Nerble passes out with four boxes of physical and a full stun bar.

Did Nerble pass out from the Heal/Treat spell? If so, how did he sustain the spell long enough for it to become permanent on Timmy? (See "Permanent Spell Base Time" table on page 178 in SR3.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Jan 25 2005, 07:32 AM
Post #7


Traumatizing players since 1992
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,282
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 220



QUOTE (OurTeam)
QUOTE (Sabosect @ Jan 24 2005, 10:57 PM)
... Nerble crawl over (in spite of the four bruised ribs) and heal Timmy, Timmy gets the joy of not being numbered amoung the dead, and Nerble passes out with four boxes of physical and a full stun bar.

Did Nerble pass out from the Heal/Treat spell? If so, how did he sustain the spell long enough for it to become permanent on Timmy? (See "Permanent Spell Base Time" table on page 178 in SR3.)

Correctamundo. The treat fails because it wasnt sustained the duration.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RedmondLarry
post Jan 25 2005, 01:34 PM
Post #8


Senior GM
***

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 1,406
Joined: 12-April 03
From: Redmond, WA
Member No.: 4,442



QUOTE (Sabosect)
Then Nirvana, without breaking stride, shoots both guards in the forehead with her Pred 3 and goes back to beating Nerble.

Since calling a shot is a free action, and you only get one of those per Combat Phase, you can't shoot two guards in the forehad on one initiative phase. (Unless, of course, you're an Adept that has the power to do two Free Actions in a phase.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Demosthenes
post Jan 25 2005, 01:46 PM
Post #9


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 401
Joined: 7-June 02
From: Living with the straw sheep.
Member No.: 2,850



Unless, of course, the GM was playing to the abstract nature of the SR game system and simply said "Whoa, staged up to deadly? That's a headshot sure enough...".
YMMV :cyber:
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Jan 25 2005, 04:28 PM
Post #10


Traumatizing players since 1992
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,282
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 220



QUOTE (Demosthenes)
Unless, of course, the GM was playing to the abstract nature of the SR game system and simply said "Whoa, staged up to deadly? That's a headshot sure enough...".
YMMV :cyber:

Except that a deadly doesn't actually kill anything outright, they still have to pass overflow, and can be saved by an EMT or medic without too much trouble. A headshot doesn't really meet those requirements. :D
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jrayjoker
post Jan 25 2005, 04:34 PM
Post #11


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,453
Joined: 17-September 04
From: St. Paul
Member No.: 6,675



Sure it does, you just get a really gool scar to talk about at all the high society parties.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Demosthenes
post Jan 25 2005, 04:37 PM
Post #12


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 401
Joined: 7-June 02
From: Living with the straw sheep.
Member No.: 2,850



That kind of depends on how big the hole in the head is, neh?
People can be shot in the head without being shot dead. (That doesn't mean it happens often, but still...)

Indeed, technically, a headshot "called shot" will not necessarily do deadly damage. So a "called shot to the head" (to stage damage up a level) doesn't necessarily meet those requirements either (by your definition).

That, however, is a whole different can of worms... :dead:
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Voran
post Jan 31 2005, 11:18 AM
Post #13


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,401
Joined: 23-February 04
From: Honolulu, HI
Member No.: 6,099



Sometimes, getting shot in the head results in a face lift, and a talking car.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hahnsoo
post Jan 31 2005, 11:25 AM
Post #14


Mr. Johnson
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,587
Joined: 25-January 05
From: Berkeley, CA
Member No.: 7,014



QUOTE (Voran)
Sometimes, getting shot in the head results in a face lift, and a talking car.

Announcer: We now return to "Knightboat: the Crime-Solving Boat".
Michael: Faster, Knightboat! We gotta catch those starfish poachers.
Knightboat: You don't have to yell, Michael, I'm all around you.
Michael: Oh, no! They're headed for land.
Michael: We'll never catch them now.
Knightboat: Incorrect: look! A canal.
Homer: Go, Knightboat, go!
Bart: Oh, every week there's a canal.
Lisa: Or an inlet.
Bart: Or a fjord.
Homer: Quiet! I will not hear another word against the boat.
- And Maggie Makes Three, [2F10]
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ancient History
post Jan 31 2005, 12:48 PM
Post #15


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 6,748
Joined: 5-July 02
Member No.: 2,935



Nothing has yet exceeded the Nephritic Screen's shadowtalk in Shadowtech for the ultimate in cyberware embarassment.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sabosect
post Jan 31 2005, 10:35 PM
Post #16


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 807
Joined: 9-October 04
Member No.: 6,741



QUOTE (OurTeam)
Did Nerble pass out from the Heal/Treat spell? If so, how did he sustain the spell long enough for it to become permanent on Timmy? (See "Permanent Spell Base Time" table on page 178 in SR3.)


GM decided to be kind and allow Nerble to stay awake long enough to complete it. Otherwise, Timmy would be quite dead right now. Very lethal run.

QUOTE (OurTeam)
Since calling a shot is a free action, and you only get one of those per Combat Phase, you can't shoot two guards in the forehad on one initiative phase. (Unless, of course, you're an Adept that has the power to do two Free Actions in a phase.)


GM ruling, not player action. Whether or not they survived depends on how big a deal the GM wants to make out of their medical bills.

QUOTE (BitBasher)
Except that a deadly doesn't actually kill anything outright, they still have to pass overflow, and can be saved by an EMT or medic without too much trouble. A headshot doesn't really meet those requirements. :D


Except the human brain can actually recieve an amazing amount of damage and continue to operate enough to keep the person alive. Even today, we have cases of people that have lost up to half of their brain and are still alive, though admittedly they are not the same afterwards.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Method
post Feb 1 2005, 12:04 AM
Post #17


Street Doc
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,508
Joined: 2-March 04
From: Neverwhere
Member No.: 6,114



QUOTE (Sabosect)
Even today, we have cases of people that have lost up to half of their brain and are still alive....

I assume you mean by surgery?

Theres a big difference between having a large section of your brain removed surgically and having half your brain puréed by the concusive force of a .45 round passing through your cranial cavity.... :eek:
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Grifter
post Feb 1 2005, 12:07 AM
Post #18


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 478
Joined: 18-December 03
From: Louisville, KY
Member No.: 5,918



QUOTE
Theres a big difference between having a large section of your brain removed surgically and having half your brain puréed by the concusive force of a .45 round passing through your cranial cavity...


Truer words were never spoken.

And while we're on the subject of faulty cyberware, I'd love to see a character with one of those oral whips get a malfunction. Preferabaly on a motorcycle. Preferable at a speed in excess of 100mph.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hahnsoo
post Feb 1 2005, 12:10 AM
Post #19


Mr. Johnson
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,587
Joined: 25-January 05
From: Berkeley, CA
Member No.: 7,014



QUOTE (Method)
QUOTE (Sabosect @ Jan 31 2005, 05:35 PM)
Even today, we have cases of people that have lost up to half of their brain and are still alive....

I assume you mean by surgery?

Theres a big difference between having a large section of your brain removed surgically and having half your brain puréed by the concusive force of a .45 round passing through your cranial cavity.... :eek:

Not as bad as a .22 round... the .45 has a chance of just passing through, and you're more likely to die from the edema and hemorrhage than from the actual bullet (i.e. surgery can repair the blood vessels and you'd probably recover, with brain damage corresponding to the location of the shot). The .22 round bounces around in there and causes far more damage to the nervous tissue and blood vessels. Of course, the .22 round is more likely to deflect off of the skull on a glancing shot, whereas the .45 round would not...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lindt
post Feb 1 2005, 12:12 AM
Post #20


Man In The Machine
*****

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,264
Joined: 26-February 02
From: I-495 S
Member No.: 1,105



Impromptu dental surgery?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Foreigner
post Feb 1 2005, 02:46 AM
Post #21


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 586
Joined: 22-November 02
From: Gordonsville, Virginia, U.S.A. (or C.A.S.)
Member No.: 3,630



I can't recall where I read it, but something similar happened IRL.

A plainclothes police officer, armed with the department-standard .38 Special snubnose (i.e., it had a 2" barrel) revolver, fires at a perp at such close range that he can clearly see the muzzle flashes of his weapon reflecting off of the surface of the other guy's eyeballs, and hits him at least once.

The criminal not only survived, but was sitting up and talking by the time the EMTs arrived to treat his wound(s). :eek:

--Foreigner
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Feb 1 2005, 02:52 AM
Post #22


Traumatizing players since 1992
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,282
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 220



QUOTE (hahnsoo)
QUOTE (Method @ Jan 31 2005, 07:04 PM)
QUOTE (Sabosect @ Jan 31 2005, 05:35 PM)
Even today, we have cases of people that have lost up to half of their brain and are still alive....

I assume you mean by surgery?

Theres a big difference between having a large section of your brain removed surgically and having half your brain puréed by the concusive force of a .45 round passing through your cranial cavity.... :eek:

Not as bad as a .22 round... the .45 has a chance of just passing through, and you're more likely to die from the edema and hemorrhage than from the actual bullet (i.e. surgery can repair the blood vessels and you'd probably recover, with brain damage corresponding to the location of the shot). The .22 round bounces around in there and causes far more damage to the nervous tissue and blood vessels. Of course, the .22 round is more likely to deflect off of the skull on a glancing shot, whereas the .45 round would not...

Are you seriously trying to say that you have a better chance of surviving a .45 shot to the head than a .22??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kevyn668
post Feb 1 2005, 02:55 AM
Post #23


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,751
Joined: 8-August 03
From: Neighbor of the Beast
Member No.: 5,375



Depends on your Combat Pool.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Moirdryd
post Feb 1 2005, 03:07 AM
Post #24


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 865
Joined: 31-December 03
From: Shadows of Britain
Member No.: 5,944



As a note from across the pond in a not so recent news item (2002 this happened)
a builder fell in a building sight and impales her head upon a 1 inche thick iron pole just behind the temple (it struck her just below the edge of the hard hat) clean through to a foot out the other side of her head. Fire crews had to be called to cut the bar down so she could be taken to hospital, after some careful surgery it was removed. She was awake through the whole thing save for the surgery itself.

Also, last week. A man went to his dentist because he had incredible tooth ache. X-rays showed a six inche nail going up through his jaw, passing just behind his eye and into his skull. Seems he`d shot himsefl accidentally with a nail gun he`d been working with a few days before and somehow hadnt noticed.

scarey stuff
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Trax
post Feb 1 2005, 03:40 AM
Post #25


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 470
Joined: 2-January 05
From: Quebec
Member No.: 6,924



I heard that one too, it missed one of the eyes by only 2 centimeters I think.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th April 2024 - 12:57 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.