IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Endless planning of combat, Enter the bureaucrats...
Double_Dice
post Sep 8 2003, 01:45 PM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 4,755

I've been playing SR3 for the about 8 months.
Since my old group spilt up during the summer and moved to different part of the country, I have begun gamemastering for a new group of five players (one of them played SR before, the others played D&D).

We have played seven sessions in July/August/September, and most of my new players have a good understanding of the rules. Three of them plays street sams, one is a combat mage, and the last is a rigger/decker, they are very similar to the templates in the main rule book.

They do legwork and information gathering without any hesitation - sometimes their legworking ideas actually surprises me.

But when it comes to combat everything grinds to a halt during the planning.

I think out last session is the best example I've experienced:

The group was hired by a johnson to perform an investigation of several organlegging-related murders and dispose of the perpetrators. They managed to track the perpetrators to an one story building in the barrens. By doing a day of surveillance from a nearby building they managed to size up their opponents (6 gangers two of them with a few cyber implants) and a surgeon. They even managed to find some minor clues on who the surgeon was and why the johnson wanted the perpetrators dead.

After they performed legwork and surveillance, the players formulated a plan.

Enter the bureaucrats, the true rulers of the game...

After carefully and tediously evaluating numerous combat approaches, such as:
- Sneaking up to the house, lopping a few grenades into a window, and shooting the survivors (this plan was formulated within the first a couple of minutes, but quickly rejected).
- Stealing a petrol truck and driving it into the building.