IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Can Adapts turn their powers off?
Cynic project
post Feb 14 2005, 10:43 PM
Post #1


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,032
Joined: 6-August 04
Member No.: 6,543



I know that some powers have to be turned on,and some powers can be turned off..But some do not say oneway other hte other. So if an adept just has a power that doesn't say one way or the other, could they turn it off?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Drain Brain
post Feb 14 2005, 10:49 PM
Post #2


The Sewer Jockey
**

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 857
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Kent, United Kingdom
Member No.: 1,197



I always house rule that.

For a start, it can make a big difference conceptually, but moreover, what about the Increased Reflexes for example? Turning it off would be like a free Reflex Trigger (if you continue the Cyberware analogue from Wired 1/2/3).

I always give the option for things like perceptive abilities and killing hands (hey, you don't ALWAYS want to kill your enemy, right?) but improved ability, Reflexes and some other bits and pieces are a no-no.

Confer with the GM. Failing that, if you are the GM, decide for yourself what seems reasonable!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
paul_HArkonen
post Feb 14 2005, 11:55 PM
Post #3


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 881
Joined: 1-May 04
Member No.: 6,295



even if you couldn't turn them off so to speak you could supress them, at least that's what I would say.

everyone, no matter how strong, can choose to regulate her stregnth, why should an adept be any different?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kagetenshi
post Feb 14 2005, 11:57 PM
Post #4


Manus Celer Dei
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 16,888
Joined: 30-December 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 3,802



There used to be clear evidence that powers could be turned off. Since the disappearance of bioware's "virtual magic loss", this is much less clear-cut.

~J
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kevyn668
post Feb 15 2005, 01:16 AM
Post #5


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,751
Joined: 8-August 03
From: Neighbor of the Beast
Member No.: 5,375



QUOTE (paul_HArkonen @ Feb 14 2005, 06:55 PM)
even if you couldn't turn them off so to speak you could supress them, at least that's what I would say.

everyone, no matter how strong, can choose to regulate her stregnth, why should an adept be any different?

I can't suppress my color vision. :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Herald of Verjig...
post Feb 15 2005, 01:19 AM
Post #6


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,066
Joined: 5-February 03
Member No.: 4,017



QUOTE (kevyn668)
I can't suppress my color vision. :)

You can, it just suppresses your black and white vision as well.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kevyn668
post Feb 15 2005, 01:26 AM
Post #7


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,751
Joined: 8-August 03
From: Neighbor of the Beast
Member No.: 5,375



QUOTE (Herald of Verjigorm)
QUOTE (kevyn668)
I can't suppress my color vision. :)

You can, it just suppresses your black and white vision as well.

Clever fellow...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kanada Ten
post Feb 15 2005, 01:42 AM
Post #8


Beetle Eater
********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 4,797
Joined: 3-June 02
From: Oblivion City
Member No.: 2,826



Well, consider that one with a Power linked to a Geas can "turn off" a power by not fulfilling said Geas. Extend that the books only notes the difference as an involuntary off setting and that it is not noted as a bonus anywhere. I conclude that while the books are vague, the ability to switch power levels and even powers using foci supports the ability to turn off the powers.

Otherwise, traceless adepts could never go shopping alone.*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kevyn668
post Feb 15 2005, 01:47 AM
Post #9


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,751
Joined: 8-August 03
From: Neighbor of the Beast
Member No.: 5,375



Despite my not-so-clever attempt to play devil's advocate, I agree that an player can turn off the character's powers. Some jsut aren't that useful if you can't turn them off. Think "The Sentinal." For Increased Reflexes, I assume you don't have to turn them off. They only work when needed. Its magic. :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kagetenshi
post Feb 15 2005, 01:47 AM
Post #10


Manus Celer Dei
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 16,888
Joined: 30-December 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 3,802



Only assuming they're pressure and not proximity.

~J
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hahnsoo
post Feb 15 2005, 01:48 AM
Post #11


Mr. Johnson
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,587
Joined: 25-January 05
From: Berkeley, CA
Member No.: 7,014



QUOTE (Kanada Ten)
Well, consider that one with a Power linked to a Geas can "turn off" a power by not fulfilling said Geas. Extend that the books only notes the difference as an involuntary off setting and that it is not noted as a bonus anywhere. I conclude that while the books are vague, the ability to switch power levels and even powers using foci supports the ability to turn off the powers.

I'd just like to note that Killing Hands according to the Shadowrun FAQ says this about the Killing Hands power:
QUOTE
Can an adept tone down his Killing Hands power? Can an adept with Killing Hands S choose to strike with a base Physical Damage of Light?
Yes, but this should be treated in a way similar to pulling punches. The player must declare what base Damage Level the adept is striking at before rolling dice. For each level the Damage Level is reduced, apply a +1 target number modifier to the test.


So it seems you can't just tone it down or turn parts of it off, at least for that specific power. Sounds like something I would house-rule or something that may or may not be revised later when the Shadowrun FAQ gets its much-needed facelift.

QUOTE
Otherwise, traceless adepts could never go shopping alone.
Oh the sacrifices one must make when you are awakened. *sniffles*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kanada Ten
post Feb 15 2005, 01:49 AM
Post #12


Beetle Eater
********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 4,797
Joined: 3-June 02
From: Oblivion City
Member No.: 2,826



QUOTE
So it seems you can't just tone it down or turn parts of it off, at least for that specific power. Sounds like something I would house-rule or something that may or may not be revised later when the Shadowrun FAQ gets its much-needed facelift.

QUOTE
I conclude that while the books are vague, the ability to switch power levels and even powers using foci supports the ability to turn off the powers.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hahnsoo
post Feb 15 2005, 01:52 AM
Post #13


Mr. Johnson
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,587
Joined: 25-January 05
From: Berkeley, CA
Member No.: 7,014



Yeah, I'm not supporting or refuting any side here. In our game, adepts can turn off/on their abilities, but I think there is enough leeway to allow GMs to determine which way it can go without disrupting canon.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kanada Ten
post Feb 15 2005, 01:57 AM
Post #14


Beetle Eater
********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 4,797
Joined: 3-June 02
From: Oblivion City
Member No.: 2,826



Agreed. Though, I'll further add that they introduced a metamagic that allows and adept to increase their power points for a time only to lose an amount afterwards. The fact one cannot scale back a power seems like an obvious oversight, but even that is not the same as switching it off.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Feb 15 2005, 10:42 AM
Post #15


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



I would think that the fact that an Adept cannot have more Powers (or levels of Powers) active than his Magic Rating would tend to imply that Powers can be turned on and off at will.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Shockwave_IIc
post Feb 15 2005, 10:47 AM
Post #16


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,512
Joined: 16-August 03
From: Northampton
Member No.: 5,499



I Would like to think that an Adept could turn their powers off otherwise an adept with masking could only ever pass as unintiated not mundane.

Something that i've noted when you have Enhanced Perception since you never know when you need thus you have to have on all the time.

[Edit] Spelling Demons Strike Again
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GentlemanLoser
post Feb 15 2005, 11:40 AM
Post #17


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 128
Joined: 28-January 05
Member No.: 7,029



Fortune;

"I would think that the fact that an Adept cannot have more Powers (or levels of Powers) active than his Magic Rating would tend to imply that Powers can be turned on and off at will."

Where does that come from? The only thing I can find in SR3 is that levels are limited by Magic rating. I can't find anything about numbers of powers or anything to do with active at all (bar the very mis leading entry with regards to adept focuses in SOTA:64).

Edit: Ignoring the fact that the number of powers is limited at character generation by a number of power points to spend that equals your magic rating. And I suppose also that loss of a magic point loses 1 points worth of powers.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tisoz
post Feb 15 2005, 02:17 PM
Post #18


Free Spirit
*******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,895
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Bloomington, IN UCAS
Member No.: 1,920



QUOTE (hahnsoo)
QUOTE (Kanada Ten @ Feb 14 2005, 08:42 PM)
Well, consider that one with a Power linked to a Geas can "turn off" a power by not fulfilling said Geas.  Extend that the books only notes the difference as an involuntary off setting and that it is not noted as a bonus anywhere.  I conclude that while the books are vague, the ability to switch power levels and even powers using foci supports the ability to turn off the powers.

I'd just like to note that Killing Hands according to the Shadowrun FAQ says this about the Killing Hands power:
QUOTE
Can an adept tone down his Killing Hands power? Can an adept with Killing Hands S choose to strike with a base Physical Damage of Light?
Yes, but this should be treated in a way similar to pulling punches. The player must declare what base Damage Level the adept is striking at before rolling dice. For each level the Damage Level is reduced, apply a +1 target number modifier to the test.


So it seems you can't just tone it down or turn parts of it off, at least for that specific power. Sounds like something I would house-rule or something that may or may not be revised later when the Shadowrun FAQ gets its much-needed facelift.

Then again, the rules explicily state the adept can choose to do Physical or normal Stun damage. It doesn't require any modifier either. The FAQ Q&A is more in line with the modifier for pulling punches and has little to do with this discussion.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hyzmarca
post Feb 15 2005, 02:47 PM
Post #19


Midnight Toker
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,686
Joined: 4-July 04
From: Zombie Drop Bear Santa's Workshop
Member No.: 6,456



Can adepts turn off powers? Two words: Vision Mag. If they can't turn them off some adepts are really fragged. Have you ever tried to navigate in close quarters while looking through binoculars?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Smiley
post Feb 15 2005, 04:01 PM
Post #20


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,102
Joined: 23-March 04
From: The Grizzly Grunion, in a VIP room.
Member No.: 6,191



QUOTE (hahnsoo)
[/QUOTE]
I'd just like to note that Killing Hands according to the Shadowrun FAQ says this about the Killing Hands power:
QUOTE
Can an adept tone down his Killing Hands power? Can an adept with Killing Hands S choose to strike with a base Physical Damage of Light?
Yes, but this should be treated in a way similar to pulling punches. The player must declare what base Damage Level the adept is striking at before rolling dice. For each level the Damage Level is reduced, apply a +1 target number modifier to the test.


So it seems you can't just tone it down or turn parts of it off, at least for that specific power. Sounds like something I would house-rule or something that may or may not be revised later when the Shadowrun FAQ gets its much-needed facelift.

That sounds to me like it only applies to when you're TRYING to injure someone. If Killing Hands can't be turned off, Adepts would inadvertantly KO their buddies every time they high-fived. And an Adept with Astral Projection isn't always projecting.
The Improved Reflexes / reflex trigger argument is good, but think about it this way: just because an Olympic sprinter can run the 100m in under 10 seconds, doesn't mean he's ALWAYS moving that fast. IR Adepts have the ability to move like lightning, but I don't think they always HAVE to.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nikoli
post Feb 15 2005, 06:09 PM
Post #21


Chicago Survivor
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 5,079
Joined: 28-January 04
From: Canton, GA
Member No.: 6,033



Also the limit on powers used at one tme is limited to magic rating, which implies that when an adept has 12 powers, he has to turn them off to be in compliance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mfb
post Feb 15 2005, 06:09 PM
Post #22


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 11,410
Joined: 1-October 03
From: Pittsburgh
Member No.: 5,670



well, it's worth pointing out that adepts don't need reflex triggers. only users of cybernetic reflex enhancements run the risk of reflexively attacking anyone who surprises them--bioware and magic reflex enhancements do not incur this penalty.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GentlemanLoser
post Feb 15 2005, 06:12 PM
Post #23


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 128
Joined: 28-January 05
Member No.: 7,029



Nikoli, is that limit a house rule? I can't find it in any of the books I own...

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kagetenshi
post Feb 15 2005, 06:12 PM
Post #24


Manus Celer Dei
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 16,888
Joined: 30-December 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 3,802



That's the bit I referenced earlier. It came from the days when bioware caused virtual magic loss.

~J
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GentlemanLoser
post Feb 15 2005, 06:16 PM
Post #25


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 128
Joined: 28-January 05
Member No.: 7,029



Ah. So it's inherited from an older version of the rules and isn't canon for third edition.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st April 2020 - 07:09 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.