IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Swap Memory, How much time for uploading utilities?
Luca
post Feb 16 2005, 08:31 AM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 147
Joined: 15-September 03
Member No.: 5,619



How much time for uploading utilities?
The "Swap memory" section in SRp.219 says to look for the section "ongoing operation" p.214-215. HOWEVER IT DOES NOT SOLVE THE MYSTERY!!!
How many seconds (or turn) a utility requires to be uploaded?
I think it is a function of the dimnsion in mp but I do not know which rate to use for teh uploading process (that is loading a utility from the storage memory to the active memory). I'm sure that it has nothing to do with the I/o speed (which deals with deck-matrix relationships while uploading a utility is a relationship between to pieces of the deck (active & storage memory).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adam
post Feb 16 2005, 08:38 AM
Post #2


Prime Runner
*******

Group: Retired Admins
Posts: 3,929
Joined: 26-February 02
From: .ca
Member No.: 51



No need for all caps - we can hear you just fine. ;-)

The I/O Speed of a deck does govern uploads and downloads, including swapping utilities from Passive to Active Memory, in MP per Combat Turn. p. 207, SR3.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JudgeIto78
post Feb 16 2005, 08:46 AM
Post #3


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 1-December 03
From: Des Moines, IA
Member No.: 5,866



According to my research and little cheat sheet, the Swap Memory function is a simple action, which means you can do it twice a round or once then something else.

Much of the Matrix stuff seems to correlate cybercombat with actual combat, so swapping "utilities" in the Matrix is much like swapping "weapons" in regular combat, which is generally a simple action.

Once this is done, if you have the amount of active memory available, the program is there and then begins uploading to your icon. The time in which that happens is listed under whatever specific operation you are doing (either sucesses or by seconds).

Hope this helps
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Luca
post Feb 16 2005, 11:01 AM
Post #4


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 147
Joined: 15-September 03
Member No.: 5,619



well, but doing two things together do not always is an advantage because the total I/O speed is counted per turn: therefore it must be divided by passes inside a turn and, inside passes, by number of actions.
Am I wrong?
For example one has I\O speed of 400 mp but want to download 400 mp of data and upload 400 mp of utility.
Let suppose that there are 2 passes:
1st pass= 1st simple action (swap memory of 100 mp of utility) + 2nd simple action (downloading 100 mp of data);
2nd pass= 1st simple action (swap memory of 100 mp of utility) + 2nd simple action (downloading 100 mp of data);
RESULT: (sorry the caps!) the 2nd turn will be identical and so the data and the utility will be ready for the beginning of the 3rd turn (if the decker is still alive!!!)
Much better to use 2 simple action in the first pass (total 200 mp) + 2 simple action in the second pass (total another 200 mp) = 400 mp per turn only to Swap Memory and have the utility ready for the beginning of the 2nd turn, kill the IC and, is successful, download the data after the combat.
Another question: why sr3 page 215 under "Ongoing operation" in the example the uploading of a utility is measured in seconds to be converted in turns while the "Swap Memory" operation (used to upload utilities) do not mentions second but uses the I/O speed which is already in turns???
Is it another bug in SR3???
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Panzergeist
post Feb 16 2005, 11:05 AM
Post #5


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,362
Joined: 3-October 03
From: Poway, San Diego County, CA, USA
Member No.: 5,676



That's a simple action to initiate a swap memory operation, not to complete it. The IO speed is per turn, not per action. You divide the IO speed by the number of initiative phases you get in a combat turn, and that is the IO speed per initiative pass. If you spend multiple actions on SWAP memory, that allows you to queue up a series of swap memory operations, but it doesn't let you do it any faster. There is a trick in the Matrix book wherein you can increase your IO speed stripping your icon operations down to the bare bones, which basically means you can't do anything that requires a roll. Does anyone know if you can initiate mutliple program swaps with a single swap memory action?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Endgame50
post Feb 16 2005, 11:19 AM
Post #6


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 192
Joined: 19-July 04
From: N 42 43.799'. W 84 27.901'
Member No.: 6,496



QUOTE (Panzergeist)
Does anyone know if you can initiate mutliple program swaps with a single swap memory action?

Yes, it's called Multiplexing (Matrix pg 21)

To multiplex you divide your I/O between different tasks any way you'd like. Multiplexing does not use any actions besides those required by the system operation and takes no tests.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Luca
post Feb 16 2005, 11:25 AM
Post #7


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 147
Joined: 15-September 03
Member No.: 5,619



Yes, but it remains as amatterof fact the the I/Ospeedper trun remains teh same, as alos exlained in Matrix page 21. You could divide the I/o speed bu differrent upoloads wit ha single simple action.-...but if you want to do another I\O user simple action (like downloading data) use must divide the I\o speed counting that download too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Endgame50
post Feb 16 2005, 11:39 AM
Post #8


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 192
Joined: 19-July 04
From: N 42 43.799'. W 84 27.901'
Member No.: 6,496



QUOTE (Luca)
Yes, but it remains as amatterof fact the the I/Ospeedper trun remains teh same, as alos exlained in Matrix page 21. You could divide the I/o speed bu differrent upoloads wit ha single simple action.-...but if you want to do another I\O user simple action (like downloading data) use must divide the I\o speed counting that download too.

Please, please, use the spell check.

Anyway, multiplexing is different than the trick Panzer mentioned. Personally, I wouldn't use it--it's really dangerous, but it does work. Otherwise, why not just upgrade your I/O speed? It's pretty cheap and easy to do.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Luca
post Feb 16 2005, 11:47 AM
Post #9


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 147
Joined: 15-September 03
Member No.: 5,619



sorry, I'm Italian and not so used to type in this language!
Where are written the rules for upgrading stuff like I/O speed? (both is noraml SR rulesnad upgraded Matrix rules?)
In any case the real disadvantage is that if teh Master wants to use "Matrix" the I\O speed depends on the kind of connection.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Endgame50
post Feb 16 2005, 11:54 AM
Post #10


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 192
Joined: 19-July 04
From: N 42 43.799'. W 84 27.901'
Member No.: 6,496



Understood. I imagine I wouldn't do so well trying to type in Italian myself.

Upgrading I/O is under Cyberterminal construction in the matrix, on page 57. A decent connection will get you an I/O of 500, which is enough to work with.

As for multiplexing, I wouldn't do it unless I had a program that was smaller than my I/O--which I'm sure it's intended for.

An alternative would be to increase your Active memory so you can hold more programs in active memory at once (I do that--all my programs are active at once) so you don't need to upload programs as much.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Panzergeist
post Feb 16 2005, 01:19 PM
Post #11


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,362
Joined: 3-October 03
From: Poway, San Diego County, CA, USA
Member No.: 5,676



I know you can do multiple uploads and downloads at once, that's not what I asked. What I asked is, can you initiate more than one with a single simple action.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Endgame50
post Feb 16 2005, 01:29 PM
Post #12


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 192
Joined: 19-July 04
From: N 42 43.799'. W 84 27.901'
Member No.: 6,496



QUOTE (Panzergeist @ Feb 16 2005, 08:19 AM)
I know you can do multiple uploads and downloads at once, that's not what I asked. What I asked is, can you initiate more than one with a single simple action.

Right... and like I said... you can with multiplexing. It doesn't take extra actions or tests besides the system operation required.

So, you perform swap memory. That takes a simple action. Using multiplexing, you can initiate as many swaps at the same time as you want, as long as you parcel out the I/O appropriately.

If you wanted to do a memory swap + begin a download, it'd take two actions--one to begin swap memory, then one to download file.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 4th June 2023 - 02:05 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.