IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

11 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> sustain focus, can it sustain any spell?, need some book ninja fu
toturi
post Mar 14 2005, 04:47 AM
Post #51


Canon Companion
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,021
Joined: 2-March 03
From: The Morgue, Singapore LTG
Member No.: 4,187



By the book, a sustaining focus only sustains a spell.

Does the caster of a sustained spell have control over it after he casts the spell? There is nothing in canon that says that he does, apart from the fact that he can stop the spell by ceasing the sustaining. However, he is in control of abilities that the spell grants him. If he casts Phantasm, he has the ability to create illusions. If he casts Levitate, he can lift an object and move it around. If he casts Control Thoughts, he seizes control of a mind. However, to do things with the abilities granted by the sustained spell, is another matter.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sandoval Smith
post Mar 14 2005, 04:51 AM
Post #52


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,144
Joined: 22-September 04
Member No.: 6,690



The book ninja has spoken.

[ Spoiler ]
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dawnshadow
post Mar 14 2005, 04:47 AM
Post #53


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 668
Joined: 15-February 05
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 7,086



QUOTE (Rory Blackhand @ Mar 13 2005, 10:53 PM)
QUOTE
Oh my god, never before had I thought of how game breaking it would be to have a mid-air, magical reproduction of "Swan Lake." Despite all the posts people have made, I have yet to see any reasonable arguement for why sustaining a spell suddenly means that you have no more control over it.


But I was just joking. My team is going to fly around and drop grenades on you from an elevation out of gunshot range. And I am going to control it all without so much as a +1 TN to my other spells I will be casting.

I have yet to see any reasonable argument for why sustaining a spell in a spell focus means you still have control over it.

Poor team, all dead of asphyxiation, with grenades going off halfway between them and the ground... I mean... 5 seconds.. that's what final displacement when dropped of what? 60m, give or take? So.. around the limits of heavy pistol extreme range.. out of range for the light ones..., just long range for smgs, and medium for assualt rifles..short for rifles... extreme for shotguns.... Poor team, they can't even dodge the counterfire (since the MAGE is controlling the spell, not them)

Shouldn't be that hard to keep a group of people moving in the same direction though. No harder then drawing lines with a fistful of pencils at least.

As for the 'reasonable argument' comment...

Assuming, of course, that you simply are not reading the posts about it, then you should.

If, however, you are reading those posts, then why are they not reasonable? There are explanations posted, if you do not accept them, then refute them. Otherwise, by virtue of NOT BEING DEBATED, they must be accepted as reasonable.

Edit: Asphyxiation is based upon the team being high enough to be out of range of gunfire, and is an exaggeration - the 1km that would put them out of range of a sniper rifle is not enough that they would be unable to breathe.

Likewise, I may be slightly off on the displacement calculation. It's been a while since I did the work with the formulai.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
toturi
post Mar 14 2005, 05:04 AM
Post #54


Canon Companion
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,021
Joined: 2-March 03
From: The Morgue, Singapore LTG
Member No.: 4,187



For example, if he chooses to levitate something to some place, it is an action that does not require him to expand any Free, Simple or Complex action much like Movement does not require you to expand any Free, Simple or Complex action. However, if he is using levitate to perform a ballet dance in mid-air. Then he is using a Use Skill complex action.

Likewise, for directing an illusionary dance, he is also using a Use Skill complex action.

Hope this clears things up.

QUOTE
My team is going to fly around and drop grenades on you from an elevation out of gunshot range. And I am going to control it all without so much as a +1 TN to my other spells I will be casting.


How can you be sure that your team-mates are out of gunshot range? How do you maneuver your team-mates? What skill is that? Please expend a complex action and roll your Small Unit Tactics Knowledge skill(perfectly canon) please.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JaronK
post Mar 14 2005, 06:18 AM
Post #55


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 942
Joined: 13-May 04
Member No.: 6,323



QUOTE (toturi)
By the book, a sustaining focus only sustains a spell.

Does the caster of a sustained spell have control over it after he casts the spell? There is nothing in canon that says that he does, apart from the fact that he can stop the spell by ceasing the sustaining.

Yes there is. The part that says the caster has control over the spell he casts. I mean come on, the book says the caster has control, in black and white. Sustaining foci don't say anything about changing that.

JaronK
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dissonance
post Mar 14 2005, 06:39 AM
Post #56


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 515
Joined: 19-January 04
Member No.: 5,992



Gee, who'd think that a potent piece of magic astrally welded onto your aura would give you an advantage over somebody who didn't have one?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
toturi
post Mar 14 2005, 06:43 AM
Post #57


Canon Companion
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,021
Joined: 2-March 03
From: The Morgue, Singapore LTG
Member No.: 4,187



QUOTE
Yes there is. The part that says the caster has control over the spell he casts. I mean come on, the book says the caster has control, in black and white. Sustaining foci don't say anything about changing that.


It would be nice if you had a quote.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sandoval Smith
post Mar 14 2005, 08:00 AM
Post #58


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,144
Joined: 22-September 04
Member No.: 6,690



QUOTE (Dissonance)
Gee, who'd think that a potent piece of magic astrally welded onto your aura would give you an advantage over somebody who didn't have one?

It's not a book quote, but it's a quote I support none the less. A Sustaining Focus lets you use the spell, without the sustaining modifiers. That's what you pay for, and I see no problem with that being what you get.

Out of curiosity, say you pull a sustaining focus off a recently deceased mage, how do you figure out what spell it's set to sustain? Or does it not matter, since you're going to have to bond it before you can use it anyway, and then you can reset it to any spell you like?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JaronK
post Mar 14 2005, 08:20 AM
Post #59


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 942
Joined: 13-May 04
Member No.: 6,323



Toturi... the passage in the rulebook that says the caster has control of a spell has already been quoted in this thread. Unless sustaining foci say anything about changing who has control of a spell, that statement still stands. Or are you now claiming that the caster of a spell doesn't have control of a spell he casts and sustains himself? Because if sustaining foci don't change who has control, then the person in control of a spell cast into a sustaining focus is the same as the person who casts in normally.

JaronK
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Mar 14 2005, 08:25 AM
Post #60


Traumatizing players since 1992
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,282
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 220



QUOTE
It's not a book quote, but it's a quote I support none the less. A Sustaining Focus lets you use the spell, without the sustaining modifiers. That's what you pay for, and I see no problem with that being what you get.
This is a bit of a misleading statement. It never says you get to use the spell, it says it sustains the spell. That may seem like a bit of semantic bickering, but the implications for this discussion are important.

The book makes no disctinction either way, it's a GM call.

Incidentally, I allow any spell to be thrown into a spell lock up to the force of the lock, the spell doesnt have to be chosen when the lock is bonded. I don't however allow the spell to be directly controlled if in a spell lock. This was actually my player's ideas. They thought it made more sense that way.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hyzmarca
post Mar 14 2005, 08:51 AM
Post #61


Midnight Toker
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,686
Joined: 4-July 04
From: Zombie Drop Bear Santa's Workshop
Member No.: 6,456



QUOTE (Rory Blackhand)
Well, it is late here. I have to sleep. Tomorrow I will show you that you are wrong.

In the meantime can anyone tell me how they plan to make exacting and advanced manuevers with 12 levitated friends while studying calculus?

If anyone has ever juggled you will understand what I am saying. You just can't focus your mind on that many different tasks at once. There would be a penalty regardless of what rules lawyers dig up. It is just too sensless otherwise and I have yet to be convinced.

A mage needs LOS to control what he is levitating. If he is looking at a calculus textbook he isn't looking at where his flying ballerinas are going. Therefore, they are just going to float in place. A mage can't just hand off levitate foci like he would invisibility foci. The spell has to be controlled as well as sustained and controlling it requires Line of Sight. That alone is limitation enough.
It has been pointed out that the sustaining focus is connected to its owner astrally. He still has a direct link to the spell.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Mar 14 2005, 12:16 PM
Post #62


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



QUOTE (Sandoval Smith @ Mar 14 2005, 07:00 PM)
Out of curiosity, say you pull a sustaining focus off a recently deceased mage, how do you figure out what spell it's set to sustain?  Or does it not matter, since you're going to have to bond it before you can use it anyway, and then you can reset it to any spell you like?

It really wouldn't matter, because when you pay the Karma to bond the Focus, you set the specific spell it can sustain. I don't believe you could just pick up and use that Sec-Mage's Force 1 Increase Reflexes 3 Sustaining Focus without first bonding it yourself.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
toturi
post Mar 14 2005, 12:44 PM
Post #63


Canon Companion
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,021
Joined: 2-March 03
From: The Morgue, Singapore LTG
Member No.: 4,187



QUOTE (JaronK @ Mar 14 2005, 04:20 PM)
Toturi... the passage in the rulebook that says the caster has control of a spell has already been quoted in this thread.  Unless sustaining foci say anything about changing who has control of a spell, that statement still stands.  Or are you now claiming that the caster of a spell doesn't have control of a spell he casts and sustains himself?  Because if sustaining foci don't change who has control, then the person in control of a spell cast into a sustaining focus is the same as the person who casts in normally.

JaronK

I can't find the quote you are refering to, either in this thread or in any of the books. Please do quote if you can find it.

Unless the books specifically state that the caster of a spell has control of the spell, all I can find are instances that the caster of the spell is required to target certain things or the spell gives certain abilities to the caster. I've not seen control as in "the controller of a spell" or "control of a spell" anywhere in the rulebooks.

Baring a quote, I would say that the caster of a sustained spell is never in "control" of the spell. The spell enables him to do certain things, or gives him certain abilities. Either he sustains the spell or the focus sustains it for him, it makes no difference.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Mar 14 2005, 12:58 PM
Post #64


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



QUOTE (toturi @ Mar 14 2005, 11:44 PM)
The spell enables him to do certain things, or gives him certain abilities. Either he sustains the spell or the focus sustains it for him, it makes no difference.

That's the real point. It makes no difference whether the mage is sustaining the spell himself, or using a Focus. The spell still acts in the manner that the mage desires.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eyeless Blond
post Mar 14 2005, 02:31 PM
Post #65


Decker on the Threshold
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,922
Joined: 14-March 04
Member No.: 6,156



Wow, so it took you all night to come back to the statement I made back on page 2? :P

QUOTE
This whole discussion is irrelevant.


:D
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Mar 14 2005, 02:51 PM
Post #66


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



Who is it you are talking about? I have maintained my position from my very first post on this subject.

Besides, this is still page 1! :P
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JaronK
post Mar 14 2005, 02:56 PM
Post #67


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 942
Joined: 13-May 04
Member No.: 6,323



QUOTE (Fortune)
Besides, this is still page 1! :P

What? Mine is on page 3! Burn him, he's a witch!

JaronK
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Mar 14 2005, 02:58 PM
Post #68


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



Bah! Silly people that view the Forum on the '30 posts per page' setting. :eek: :P
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eyeless Blond
post Mar 14 2005, 03:53 PM
Post #69


Decker on the Threshold
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,922
Joined: 14-March 04
Member No.: 6,156



QUOTE (Fortune)
Who is it you are talking about? I have maintained my position from my very first post on this subject.

Besides, this is still page 1! :P

Just saying it's good to have more people agreeing with me. I was feeling kinda beseiged here. :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Mar 14 2005, 04:38 PM
Post #70


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE (Eyeless Blond)
Funny thing is, all this is irrelevant for Levitate. Let's look at the spell description:
QUOTE (pg. 197 @ SR3)
Levitate allows the caster to telekinetically lift an object and move it around

It doesn't say "the person controlling the spell," it says caster. Does the sustaining focus cast the spell? No. Therefore it is not the caster, and has nothing to do with control over the livitate spell's effects.

In fact, the same thing can be said of all sustained spells. In all the spell descriptions it's the *caster* that is granted the abilities, not whatever is currently in control of the spell. The exception is most detection spells, where it is the target which is granted the abilities. This whole discussion is irrelevant.

Theres your quote toturi. Bookninja title revoked!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mintcar
post Mar 14 2005, 05:17 PM
Post #71


Karma Police
***

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 1,358
Joined: 22-July 04
From: Gothenburg, SE
Member No.: 6,505



I think control is given to the caster even if using a sustaining focus. That thing about the +2 sustaining mod being required to control spells is bull. You donīt get a tn mod to use the spell the mod comes from sustaining, do you? Then you can concentrate on using it all you like without mod, and then simply stop concentrating on it when doing something else, all thanks to that trusty focus. I also disagree with the thing said on first page, were the spell was passed between the caster and the focus. No, the spell is sustained by the focus, controled by the caster.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da9iel
post Mar 14 2005, 11:03 PM
Post #72


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 556
Joined: 28-May 04
From: Moorhead, MN, USA
Member No.: 6,367



@Tarantula: Toturi may keep the "bookninja" title. Where does it say who is "controlling" the spell. Toturi's POV is accurate in saying that the spell (not needing control) grants telekinetic abilities to the caster. The caster controls the abilities, not necessarily the spell. Find a reference to controlling the spell and you will have won.

This post has been edited by Da9iel: Mar 14 2005, 11:04 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eyeless Blond
post Mar 14 2005, 11:19 PM
Post #73


Decker on the Threshold
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,922
Joined: 14-March 04
Member No.: 6,156



The whole point is that there is no such thing as "controlling" the spell itself. It's not only irrelevant to the discussion, but is little more than a piece of disctacting semantics. It is in fact impossible to "control" a spell; such a description would indicate that it's possible to change meta-properties of the spell itself on-the-fly, such as Force or number of net successes or indeed any property of the spell itself, which canon does not let you do. So forget about, "controlling the spell;" it's nothing more than a fool's game of semantics that is nowhere at all mentioned in canon whatsoever.

The only things you can in fact control about a spell is 1) who/what maintains the spell, which presumably means who/what maintains the mana flow/web/insert-fluff-here that keeps the spell going, and 2) who/what controlls the spell's effects. Note that these are not necessarily the same person/thing. For example, the spell Clairvoyance can be cast on a target, who then gets the benefits of the spell, which includes control over the spell's effect of viewing objects from a distance. The target can't take over maintaining the spell, nor can the caster take over the sense granted to the target, except in the degenerate case that they are the same person (caster casting Clairvoyance on himself).

So let's look at the issues in a bit more detail. 1) is pretty obvious: either a caster can maintain the spell himself, forcing a +1/+2 TN modifier for doing so; or he can pass it off to a sustaining focus, give it to/take it back from an elemental, or bind it to an elemental, etc.

The answer to 2) is also obvious if you look at the individual spell's description: either noone has control over the spell's granted abilities/effects (Armor spell, etc); the target gets control over the abilities/effects (most enhanced-sense Detection spells like Clairvoyance); or the caster gets control over the abilities/effects (most Manipulation spells like Levitate). Note, again, that who gets control over the spell's effects is dependent on the spell, and not--I repeat, NOT--on who or what is maintaining the spell.

Thus, a mage can cast a Levitate spell, use a sustaining focus to maintain the spell, and freely levitate whatever the sustaining focus is maintaining the spell on. This is because, although the focus is maintaining the spell, the spell description gives the caster control over the spell's effects.

Is that clear enough, or do I need to talk more slowly?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eyeless Blond
post Mar 14 2005, 11:31 PM
Post #74


Decker on the Threshold
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,922
Joined: 14-March 04
Member No.: 6,156



Oh, and you want quotes? Here:

QUOTE (pg. 183 SR3 @ left column under "Spell Effect")
Consult the description of the spell for specific effects.


In other words, RTFM. :P
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JaronK
post Mar 14 2005, 11:34 PM
Post #75


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 942
Joined: 13-May 04
Member No.: 6,323



QUOTE (Tarantula)
QUOTE (pg. 197 @ SR3)
Levitate allows the caster to telekinetically lift an object and move it around


That was the quote I meant earlier. The caster moves the object about, not the sustainer.

JaronK
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

11 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:33 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.