IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Spirits And Karma Pool, I can't find the rules!
Clipwing
post Aug 16 2003, 06:56 PM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 5-May 03
From: On the Locus, San Antonio, TX
Member No.: 4,538



It seems to me at some point that I had seen rules on how to determine how much Karma Pool a spirit had and that it was determined during the initial conjuring of the spirit. I think it had something to do with the number of successes rolled in the test. But I've been looking through SR3, MITS, and Critters and haven't been able to find those rules again... grr... Does anybody know the rules I'm talking about and where they are? A page number would be wonderful.

Thanks,

Clipwing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lilt
post Aug 16 2003, 07:17 PM
Post #2


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,965
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Edinburgh, Scotland
Member No.: 2,032



:read: P189, Just above CONTROLLING.
Karma pool = # Of Successes when Conjuring +1
:proof:
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Clipwing
post Aug 16 2003, 07:22 PM
Post #3


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 5-May 03
From: On the Locus, San Antonio, TX
Member No.: 4,538



Awesome, thanks! I must have skipped over that part somehow.. :oops:
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Everial
post Aug 16 2003, 07:43 PM
Post #4


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 3-August 03
Member No.: 5,209



*sighs* look at that... starting mage chars have karma pools of one... and their spirits have karma pools of... well... more than one.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lilt
post Aug 16 2003, 07:47 PM
Post #5


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,965
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Edinburgh, Scotland
Member No.: 2,032



Yes, but 1 karma pool != 1 karma pool. It depends who's karma pool it is. For example that mage could spend his point of karma pool to give that spirit 2 more karma pool.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hobgoblin
post Aug 16 2003, 10:13 PM
Post #6


panda!
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,331
Joined: 8-March 02
From: north of central europe
Member No.: 2,242



allso the reason for this can be exlained that when a magesummons he puts out a general cattlecall and some of the spiriats that awnser are more experienced...

hmm, whre is the rule that says a mage can give a spirit 2 karmapoll by burning 1?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Everial
post Aug 17 2003, 12:15 AM
Post #7


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 3-August 03
Member No.: 5,209



And what about that elemental you summon with 4-5 successes? That's a hell of a lot more experienced/lucky/whathaveyou than that starting mage is. =)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Aug 17 2003, 02:11 AM
Post #8


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



QUOTE (hobgoblin)
hmm, whre is the rule that says a mage can give a spirit 2 karmapoll by burning 1?

Technically, the Mage can use his Karma to re-roll failures, which could result in more successes, ergo more Karma Pool for the Spirit. :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
annachie
post Aug 17 2003, 02:15 AM
Post #9


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 228
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Melbourne
Member No.: 652



QUOTE (hobgoblin)
Hmm, whre is the rule that says a mage can give a spirit 2 karmapoll by burning 1?

It was something to do with paying free spirits. Can't be bothered to loooook it up now.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kagetenshi
post Aug 17 2003, 07:59 AM
Post #10


Manus Celer Dei
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 16,888
Joined: 30-December 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 3,802



Makes you wonder what the spirits are doing working for the conjurers and not the other way around.

~J
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2014 - 04:50 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.