Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Shadowrun GM questions
Gilgamesh
post Apr 15 2005, 02:05 AM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 7,334

Hello everyone. I've been playing SR for about eight years now. I moved recently, and found a new group to play with. Just one caveat; I have to GM. So I had a question or four for the experienced GMs out there...

1. What's a decent way to attempt to tone down a power level in a game? My players are a textbook example of munchkins ("Vindictive?! Dude! Free build points!")

2. What is a good way to deal with a whiney player? For example; the player's character had a good amount of stock in a corporation the group was trying to form. The brains behind the outfit died in combat, so he arranged it that the other characters could try to buy his stock. Well, through some backroom dealings, he eventually lost a majority share status, and the new controlling party decided to just issue a bunch of new stock to dilute his monies to strike at him. When he was informed of this, he said "Fine. I'll just make a new character! I've got nothing!" And yes, that was a direct quote.

3. What is a good way to make characters develop backstories? My wife (I love her dearly) actually created an uncle that lives in town, and has family, and a couple of brothers who just live normal lives. Everyone else is just an orphan. I tried to give her bonus karma for having a well-thought out life, but it turned into accusations of "She's getting free karma just for sleeping with you!" (That player doesn't play anymore, by the way)

4. And finally: what is the recommended method of getting another player to take the reins and run a session? One person did, and it was a long night of 'Go here, kill him, go there, blow that up' which got old very quickly.

In advance, I'd like to thank you all for taking the time to read this and thank you for any solutions you may have.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Herald of Verjig...
post Apr 15 2005, 02:17 AM