IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> question about stacked foci, attacking from astral
6thDragon
post Aug 18 2005, 03:12 PM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 266
Joined: 16-April 02
From: DC
Member No.: 2,605



In Magic in the Shadows it gives rules for stacked foci, but they really only focus on making them. My first question is what about attacking them from the astral plane. Can you single out one of the foci or do you have to attack the entire foci. An example: if I have a stacked two sustaining focus 4/4 does it count as attacking a force 8 focus or could I only attack on of them? Also, when using the rules for focus addiction, would you only count the amount of the focus you used? Again if you only sustained one force 4 spell, but not the other, would that count as using a force 4 foci or a force 8?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Astelaron
post Aug 18 2005, 05:58 PM
Post #2


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 17-March 05
Member No.: 7,183



Stacked foci are only stacked in their powers. Having a stacked foci lets you include the powers of a spirit focus and a spell focus for example. No matter how many powers you stack into a focus it is still one focus and so must be attacked as one focus. Activated stacked focuses activate all levels of the stack so effectively your example is a force 8 focus.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
6thDragon
post Aug 18 2005, 11:57 PM
Post #3


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 266
Joined: 16-April 02
From: DC
Member No.: 2,605



But do foci you have active count as using them even if you don't use the dice offered from a foci?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Aug 19 2005, 03:37 AM
Post #4


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



Yes. Otherwise, foci that don't provide you dice (such as sustaining foci) would never count against the total.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st July 2024 - 01:26 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.