Reply to this topicStart new topic
> EX Ammo isDumb
Zen Shooter01
post Sep 8 2005, 09:40 PM
Post #1

Moving Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 1,042

On a critical glitch, it blows up in your face.

I'm not very good at math, but it seems to me that if ten soldiers each fired off a hundred rounds in combat in a 24-hr period, you could expect (total guess) 50% of them to be wounded by their own defective gear.Which I'm going to guess is hard on morale, if nothing else.

Why would I issue this to my personnel?
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Kagetenshi
post Sep 8 2005, 09:44 PM
Post #2

Manus Celer Dei

Group: Dumpshocked
Member No.: 3,802

Because it kills armored people better than APDS ammo for some mysterious reason?

I'm not arguing that it isn't dumb, it's just dumb two ways. Contrary to popular belief, that does not necessarily equal "balanced".

~J

+Quote Post
blakkie
post Sep 8 2005, 09:46 PM
Post #3

Dragon

Member No.: 3,263

BECAUSE THEY ARE ELITE SOILDERS!

Sir, yes Sir!

ELITE SOILDERS DO NOT GO CRYING TO MOMMIES EVERY TIME THEIR GUN BLOWS UP IN THEIR FACE, BECAUSE ELITE SOILDERS CAN TAKE IT!

SIR, we will frag them or die trying, SIR!

YOU WILL NOT DIE ON ME MAGGOT!!!

Maybe APDS aren't such bad ammo after all? ;)

EDIT: Critical Glitches become a lot rarer once you reach 10ish dice. It is only when tossing 3 or 4 dice that you'd be anywhere close to the number injured that you are talking about.

+Quote Post
Zen Shooter01
post Sep 8 2005, 09:53 PM
Post #4

Moving Target

Member No.: 1,042

Blakkie: You can't expect one critical glitch in 100 rolls for 50% of rollers?

+Quote Post
blakkie
post Sep 8 2005, 09:55 PM
Post #5

Dragon

QUOTE (Zen Shooter01)
Blakkie: You can't expect one critical glitch in 100 rolls for 50% of rollers?

Depends on how many dice are you rolling? At 10 dice i don't think it is anywhere near that. There should be a Glitch and Critical Glitch table around here somewhere. I know someone made one up.

+Quote Post
Kagetenshi