Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: GMing?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > General Gaming
Kotori
Hello all! I am trying to get the nerve up to run Thea. However I have never done this before and am really nervous. plus I really have no idea where to begin and how to get rating. I have read a couple things to tell me what to do but that only gets me more confused. Please if any one has any ideas or remembers what they did their first time let me know. Thanks. facelick.gif [QUOTE]I am a fragile little tea cup floating in the sea of life.
JongWK
Try The RPG Site. It has an Actual Play and Gameplay Craft forum you might like. People there don't bite... much. wink.gif
Wounded Ronin
Well, I GMed SR3 for years, and there is one single thing I would hold up as being THE most important thing to do as the GM.

THE most important thing is to be consistient in your administration of the rules. If you're inconsistient you'll never hear the end of the bitching and the whining whenever something bad happens to a player character. The only way that you can have your games not degenerate into whinefests when bad things happen to characters is if your application of the rules were consistient from day one and so there's no room for argument about whether or not you handled that called shot correctly.

In the even that you need to change the way you were doing something for any reason you must tell all the players exactly what you're going to change and ask each one of them if they agree. Only when all of them agree should you change that rule. If not everyone agrees then you probably won't be able to keep order at the table should you do the rule a different way.