Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Shadowrun Copyright
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > General Gaming
Steak and Spirits
Is it an infringement on the Shadowrun/Wizkids copyright to play Shadowrun in anything aside from a tabletop format? I.E, if it's played over the internet, or by mail/webmail, or on a MUD/MUSH environment what are the legal ramifications? Given that I am not a lawyer, I wanted some clarification on the subject?

As I understand it, provided material is not reproduced, no revenue is gained, and the appropriate WizKids copyright information is displayed, this does not infringe on WizKid's intellectual property?

And of course, I understand this is not necessarily the correct location for an authoratative answer, but I thought this would be quickest way to get a reply to the question, as I am an avid Shadowrunner player, but am seperated geographically from my gaming group, and wanted to check on the legality, before making any assumptions on our rights as gamers.

Demerzel
I'm no authority, but my understanding is that the Shadowrun licence got split in twain. Microsoft owning the rights to any videogame shadowrun product and wizkids owning the pen and paper PRG rights. Then of course any new fluff produced by either company is then owned by that company, so Microsoft can't have technomancers or any 2070 stuff that came out of FanPro in their games, and if they put any fluff in their games then FanPro can't use that.

So my guess is a MUD or MUSH has the potential of violating two company's intellectual property simultaneously if you base it on SR4, or basically just Microsofts rights to SR didgital gaming is you base it in SR3-.

Playing pen and paper online where the computer is not storing the content in an interactive format, it is just facilitating communication, is probably okay. But that may depend on what gets said and if it's retained in a publicly accessable format.

Just my 0.02 nuyen.gif
eidolon
Step 1: Google Shadowrun