Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Mage the Awakening & Storytelling RPG in General
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > General Gaming
Fragmintz
Hoi Chummers -

I am a new SR player inspired to the genre by the upcoming Microsoft Game (if you can believe that). Currently, I am in a play by post game on the SR forums and having a blast. As I sought to expand my RPG world a bit, I stumbled upon Mage the Awakening. The rich storyline and voluminous material intrigued me. Also, I really liked the idea of it being focused on cooperative story telling. As a writer, I have found the PBP to be very stimulating to my creative process and it has helped me to practice writing as different voices. I am hoping that Mage can do the same thing for me.

So, have any of you played Mage or any other White Wolf games? What do you think of them? Where is a good place to go for online PBP games?

Thanks
nezumi
*waves to Fragmintz*

I've played Exalted and (briefly) Vampire/changeling larp. The larp was waaaay to weird for me. Exalted was pretty good, but as a setting, the only "advantage" it has over SR4 is it's more 'heroic'. Both are very simple, both allow for a very simple dice mechanic.

SR3, by default, is a good deal more complex, and so reqires a little more mathematics to do 'properly', but if the players are willing, it's always easier to drop rules than to add complexity. In other words, SR3 could work fine as a story teller system with a good GM and willing players. I don't think Exalted could serve as as realistic game as SR3, however.
Wounded Ronin
Story based gaming is boring to me. I usually don't care about the details of the setting, the scenario, about the NPCs, or even about my own character to want to deal with some situation which is cloyingly adpoted to these very specific elements. I tend to get bored with my own characters after a number of months and always want to make new ones.