Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Designing a Computer System to Hack
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Dewar
I'm not a total newbie when it comes to Shadowrun 4th ed, but this is the first game I've run where hacking is being emphasised, and I want to get it right. Here's how I've designed my network.

The building has two machines directly connected to the Matrix, one which is a fairly average system that all the normal traffic goes through, and the other that's a VPN to the regional office, so it's subscribed only to the regional office's computer. Both of those connect to a central system where all of the various user machines and file servers and what not connect together. Finally, there's a security computer connected to that which is in turn connected to all the cameras and door locks.

So for each of these nodes, what stats do I need to list? Obviously they'll each need a Response, Firewall, and System stat. What other things do I need? I want this to be a pretty easy target since this is their first run, but I also want that VPN server to be tempting, and to swat down anyone who's feeling overconfident.
knasser
First, I better caveat that you could get four different answers from three different people to your question. The below is my version of what I think you want. Others might do it differently, but the below doesn't have any house rules in it, it's strictly RAW. And I think it would probably be about right for a starting, non min-maxed hacker, representing a small corp. Swap the IC on the regional sub-system node for something more direct if that suits you better. And you might want to add an Armour program if you feel it's too vulnerable. I would run a sample encounter between the PC and that node / IC to see if it hits the balance that you want.

Hope this is helpful,

-K.

There are four nodes in total. I list these as follows:

Node 1 - Matrix Gateway (System 3, Response 3, Firewall 3):