Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: To Much Tech?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Graht
I started playing Shadowrun in 1990 (yeah, I'm old, get over it wink.gif).

In the beginning it was a shit hot game. 2nd Edition came out and it was still a shit hot game. And then it started losing it's appeal to me. 3rd Edition came out and Shadowrun kept losing it's appeal, and I couldn't figure out why. I thought it was just because I had been playing/GMing it for so long that I needed a change of pace and something different.

It's been over 5 years since I played or GMed Shadowrun and it just isn't luring me back, despite the fact that I really like the new rules and mechanics in 4th Edition.

I think I finally figured out why.

In the beginning the magic to tech ratio was pretty equal. Over the years a *lot* of tech has been added to the game: more guns, more cyberware, bioware, matrix technology, vehicles, drones, etc. But I don't think the same can't be said for magic. Sure a couple of magic sourcebooks came out but there weren't that many new spells or fetishes or anything to compare with the increase in available technology.

Am I right or am I completely off my rocker (figuratively speaking, I'm not that old wink.gif)?
eidolon
I think you're right in terms of magic not increasing in saturation at the same level of tech. I don't mind it so much, personally, but I can see the issue.

Demerzel
I thought it was funny when I saw two threads from you one entitled too much tech and one entitled too much magic... I was wondering if you were making two threads for both sides of the argument.

Here's why I think that's funny: Every few months a new version of an argument develops here on DS alternating between one of two topics. One month it will be, "Why is Magic so overpowered, Cyber should rule." The next it is, "Why is Cyber so overpowered, Magic should rule." Seems like this month the question is why is tech too powerful...

Whipstitch