Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: I am moving
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Dumpshock News, Bug Reports, Feature Requests, & Discussion
FrankTrollman
So I did better than I expected in my entrance exam and interview for medical school in Charles University Second Faculty of Medicine in Prague - I tied with a man from Seattle for the first slot. Long story short this means that I'm moving here to the Czech Republic semi-permanently within the next two weeks.

This also means that for the forseeable future, I will not take on any more Shadowrun related projects. At heart I am a medical professional, not a science fiction author, and I have before me the opportunity for more medical training that I've been working towards for years.

Writing for Shadowrun has never been about money. Honestly, I make more in a week of being an Ambulance EMT than FanPro still owes me from my work on Street Magic. It has been a hobby, and one I do not regret undertaking. Unfortunately perhaps, when one has less free time it is hobbies which suffer the most. And I am looking at having a lot less free time. Less even than I do right now.

-Frank
toturi
The Doc Wagon guy is going to train under Schwartkopf! biggrin.gif
Method
Frank,

Congratulations on getting in. I'm in my second year at the University of Washington in Seattle. Always interesting to "meet" other Dumpshockers of the medical persuasion.

And about having less free time- you are right about that. Its pretty rough trying to balance everything, especially if one is married and/or has a family. I barely have time to scan these boards, much less play SR or participate in any of the gajillion other hobbies I enjoy. But it can be done- sometimes you just gotta say, "To hell with studying endocrinology even though I have a midterm in two days and will be with patients all day tomorrow!! I'm going to check out Dumpshock..."

At least that’s what I'm doing... cyber.gif
Matsu Kurisu
Hi Frank